Skip to main content

Counseling: COUN 521

Subject Guide for Counseling

Journal Articles

Complete List of COUN Databases

To access the complete list of databases recommended for COUN research, please follow these steps:
 

  • From the library home page (www.library.fullerton.edu), please click on the "Databases" icon.
     
  • When you arrive at the new page, please locate and click on "Counseling" from the list of subjects in the "Databases by Subject" section.
     
  • After clicking on the "Counseling" link, you will see the recommended list of COUN databases appear on the left-hand side. If you would like to obtain additional information on a specific database, please click on the "More information" link found under each database entry.

Google Scholar Via the Pollak Library

Use Google Scholar to search through thousands of journals, many of which the Pollak Library owns.  You can also find patents and legal documents with Google Scholar.

By using Google Scholar via the Pollak Library, you have access to a special "Pollak Library Find It!" link in order to determine if a particular item of interest is available full-text online, in print, or through interlibrary loan.

If you experience a challenge with connecting to Google Scholar from off campus, the information on this page offers one way to configure Google Scholar so that it connects with resources available through the Pollak Library.

PsycINFO Resources

APA PsycInfo Methodology Field Values

APA PsycInfo allows you to limit your search to a specific methodology or set of methodologies.  One methodology field in APA PsycInfo offers you the opportunity to search specifically for empirical studies.

 

Related Links:

Direct Link to Methodology Field Values Document (American Psychological Association PDF)


Sample Search Using Methodology Field Values (American Psychological Association tutorial)

PsycINFO Classification Codes

PsycINFO organizes its content according to a system of classification codes.  When searching PsycINFO, you have the option to locate material based on these codes.

 

Related Link:

Direct Link to Classification Codes Document (American Psychological Association PDF)