Skip to main content

Counseling: COUN 500

Subject Guide for Counseling

Catalog

Find Books Using OneSeach

OneSearch Logo

Search for

Journal Articles

Complete List of COUN Databases

To access the complete list of databases recommended for COUN research, please follow these steps:
 

  • From the library home page (www.library.fullerton.edu), please click on the "Databases" icon.
     
  • When you arrive at the new page, please locate and click on "Counseling" from the list of subjects in the "Databases by Subject" section.
     
  • After clicking on the "Counseling" link, you will see the recommended list of COUN databases appear on the left-hand side. If you would like to obtain additional information on a specific database, please click on the "More information" link found under each database entry.

Google Scholar Via the Pollak Library

Use Google Scholar to search through thousands of journals, many of which the Pollak Library owns.  You can also find patents and legal documents with Google Scholar.

By using Google Scholar via the Pollak Library, you have access to a special "Pollak Library Find It!" link in order to determine if a particular item of interest is available full-text online, in print, or through interlibrary loan.

If you experience a challenge with connecting to Google Scholar from off campus, the information on this page offers one way to configure Google Scholar so that it connects with resources available through the Pollak Library.

Popular Sources

Sample Resources for Popular Articles

Internet Searching

Six Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites

As your do your research on the Internet, take the time to evaluate the content you will find on the Web sites you visit.  Six criteria you can use to evaluate the information on these Web sites are:

  • Authority
  • Objectivity
  • Accuracy
  • Currency
  • Content / Relevancy
  • Aesthetics

For more information on each of the six criteria, please refer to the related link below.  In addition, you may also wish to view a tutorial on evaluating Web sites.  The link to the tutorial is available in the upper-right-hand corner of this section.


Related Link
:

How Do I Evaluate My Sources?

Internet Searching

Please read the information below to learn how you can construct a search of government Web sites in Google for information on your research topic.

Did You Know?
You can search for government Web sites in Google by typing: site:.gov [skipping a space and then entering your search term(s)]

To search education Web sites, please type:  site:.edu [skipping a space and then entering your search term(s)]

For a search of organization Web sites, please type:  site:.org [skipping a space and then entering your search term(s)]

Additional Tip
If needed, please try searches using different keywords, as well as placing your keywords in a different order. Also, if you are searching for a specific phrase, you may wish to place quotation marks around the phrase in order to find the phrase words together.

As always, please take the time to evaluate your sources.