Finding Open Access Digital Content
These guides, created and maintained by Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene, provide regularly updated directories to locate open access digital content. The directories are organized by type of content, such as: images, video, audio, and cartographic materials.
-
(Pollak Library Guide) Creative Commons
Creative Commons works are creative works that the content creator is allowing others to freely use under certain conditions specified in each license. Visit the above linked guide for a directory of sites where you can find Creative Commons content. -
(Pollak Library Guide) Public Domain Media & Content
Public domain works are creative works to which copyright no longer applies or never applied. You can use these works for free and event modify them. Visit the above linked guide for a directory of sites where you can find public domain content.
Course Specific Recommendations
-
Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a media file repository of free images (photos, illustrations, maps, etc.), videos, sounds and other multimedia files. All content is Creative Commons licensed, GNU Free Documentation licensed, or in public domain. Check the Licensing field on each item.
-
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)DPLA provides a discovery layer to find digitized primary sources from libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions throughout the U.S. It includes a mix of public domain and Creative Commons licensed works, as well as works fully restricted by copyright. Check the Rights Information on each item record to confirm copyright status. Use the "How Can I Use It?" section of search filters to limit your searches to just works licensed by Creative Commons or in the public domain.
-
CalisphereCalisphere includes digitized primary sources from the University of California campuses, as well as other libraries and archives from throughout California. Only some of the digitized items reside in the public domain. You need to consult the Rights Information on each item record to determine if the item is in the public domain, or if you need to contact the contributing institution for usage information.
-
California Digital Newspaper CollectionThe CDNC project by U.C. Riverside has a growing collection of historical California newspapers published from 1846 - present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. All included newspapers published before January 1, 1930 are in the public domain and have no restrictions on use. Browse county, date, or newspaper title.