Adding AI to our Student Learning Outcomes (SLO)
Adding AI literacy to existing lessons does not necessarily require a complete reworking of assignments or lessons. Adding AI into places where it already fits within the Framework for Information Literacy Instruction
Here are some SLOs for the more general outcomes of an information literacy session, not necessarily one where AI is the focus:
- Students will be able to review bibliographies, database searches, and AI outputs to identify key scholars and important works for their topic.
- Students will be able to articulate their information needs for their final project by identifying key concepts and refining their research questions, including using AI tools.
- Students will be able to evaluate the information found in library resources, online resource collections, and the results of AI tools using the CRAP Test and other evaluation frameworks.
Please see the assignments linked below for more specific SLO related to AI lessons.
-
Artificial Intelligence + ACRL FrameworksThis extensive guide created by librarians at Florida International University This libguide explores the integration of generative AI with the Framework for Information Literacy. It examines authority, information creation, value, research inquiry, and scholarship as conversation in relation to generative AI.
-
AI and Information LiteracyCreated by librarians at the University of Maryland, this Canvas module is for faculty to embed in their courses to help students learn about information literacy and new Artificial Intelligence (AI) tools such as ChatGPT, Bing AI, and DALL-E.
-
AI Literacy as Information LiteracyCreated by librarians at the University of North Dakota, this guide outlines how information literacy standards directly apply to learners' mastery of artificial intelligence.
AI Lessons for One-Shot Instruction
Below are lesson plans that can be incorporated into one-shot information literacy sessions.
If you would like to contribute your lesson to the guide, please consider adding information such as SLOs, time required for activity, resources needed/technology required, and any handouts or digital resources.
-
Lesson Plan- Using AI to Refine Research QuestionsDeveloped by Michaela Bettez with the use of Google Gemini.
This lesson has been used in sessions for upper-level courses where students are expected to complete a major research paper.
-
Harnessing Pandora's Box: At the Intersection of Information Literacy and AIDeveloped by librarians from different disciplinary backgrounds, this set of lesson plans includes learning activities closely tied to learning outcomes derived from ACRL's Information Literacy Framework and the Framework for Visual Literacy in Higher Education. Each centers on a frame and contains an overview of the information or visual literacy issue related to AI tools. Each lesson is designed with customizations appropriate for the different approaches taken in humanities, social sciences, and science courses.
-
ACRL Information Literacy Sandbox - AI LessonsList of lesson plans on various topics contributed by librarians from various institutions and disciplines.
-
Tips and Trends: Race on the Database: Using Claude AI to Gamify Library InstructionACRL's Instruction Section's Tips and Trends newsletter outlines an assignment that uses Claude AI to gamify database demonstrations for introductory writing classes.
-
ChatGPT Assignments to Use in Your Classroom TodayThis OER textbook includes practical assignments for incorporating Chat GPT across the disciplines.
AI Assignment Builders
AI lesson builders are tools designed to streamline and enhance the lesson planning process for educators.
How AI Lesson Builders Work:
- Input: You provide details like the subject, topic, learning objectives, and student level (in this case, college).
- Content Generation: The AI uses its knowledge base to generate lesson components like:
- Learning Activities: Engaging exercises and discussions to solidify understanding.
- Assessments: Quizzes, assignments, or projects to gauge student learning.
- Resources: Links to relevant articles, videos, or simulations to enrich the lesson.
- Customization: You can refine the suggestions based on your preferences, teaching style, and available resources.
Text and resources generated by Google Gemini and adapted by Michaela Bettez.
-
AI Lesson CreatorThis free tool allows you to input basic information and get a starting point for your lesson plan, including learning objectives and activities.