Skip to Main Content
Pollak Library

Biology 152: Websites

Plants

General Plant Systematics and Plant Diversity

  • Wild Flower Search
    After correctly inputting the location and time of year you are searching, this site will provide searchable options for plant shapes, colors, and various identifiers. Scores are given to potential plants that may be the plant you saw.
  • PLANTS Database
    Plants in the United States and US territories. Maintained by USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
  • PlantSearch
    A global database of living plant, seed, and tissue collections in botanic gardens and similar organizations. From Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI).
  • Tropicos
    A project of the Missouri Botanical Garden, providing botanical information, including taxonomic details, distribution, and specimen data. 
  • Kew Science - Plants of the World Online
    Comprehensive plant information from the Royal Botanic Gardens.
  • Flora of North America
    Offers comprehensive information about the native and introduced plants of North America, including descriptions, distribution maps, and keys. 
  • JSTOR Global Plants
    Access to a vast collection of plant specimens, research articles, and other content from different scientific disciplines. 
  • Flora of China
    Flora of China with authoritative descriptions, distribution maps, and images of Chinese plants. 
  • International Plant Names Index (IPNI)
    Plant nomenclature and taxonomy information.
  • FloraBase
    Wild plants of Western Australia containing detailed descriptions, images, and distribution maps. 
  • WFO PLant List
    A comprehensive list of accepted plant species names and synonyms.
  • Royal Botanic Garden's Multisite Search Engine 
    Searches the living collections of 28 conservation databases from botanic gardens and arboretums worldwide.
  • Seed Dormancy & Generation Bibliography
  • Database of 12,000 publications related to seed dormancy and germination covering the period between 1890 and 1998. Maintained by Prof. G.M. Simpson from the University of Saskatchewan.
  • Index to American Botanical Literature
    Systematics, floristics, morphology & ecology of American plants and fungi; also economic botany & general botany. From the New York Botanical Garden.
  • Treesearch
    Portal to US Forest Service research publications (full text access).
  • Angiosperm Phylogeny Website
  • collaboration between the Missouri Botanical Society and the University of Missouri, St. Louis
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library
    "The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life" 
  • Botanicus Digital Library
    A freely accessible portal aiming to improve access to scientific literature. Using a Web-based encyclopedia of digitized historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library, Botanicus has digitized materials from its library since 1995. 
  • Carnivorous Plant Database
    Jan Schlauer compiled this taxonomic portion of this database, including over 3000 entries.
  • Gymnosperm Database (Univ. of Bonn, Germany)
    A premier source of information on conifers and their allies.
  • The Parasitic Plant Connection (D. Nickrent)
    Presented by Dan Nickrent, Department of Plant Biology, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, the Parasitic Plant Connection contains over 4000 files, 3564 of these image files of parasitic and mycoheterotrophic plants.
  • APSnet: Plant Pathology Online
    The American Phytopathological Society (APS) is a nonprofit professional scientific organization dedicated to studying and controlling plant diseases.
  • National Plant Diagnostic Network (NPDN)
    The NPDN was established in 2002 in response to the need to enhance agricultural security by protecting the health and productivity of plants in agricultural and natural ecosystems in the U.S. 
  • Plant and Insect Parasitic Nematodes
    Information on nematodes, studies, surveys, agricultural issues, identification, and systematics.
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
    Searchable database of wildflowers by state and region and an incredible gallery of native plants.
  • Bioversity International

    Bioversity International, formerly the International Plant Genetic Resources Institute delivers scientific evidence, management practices and policy options to use and safeguard agricultural and tree biodiversity to attain sustainable global food and nutrition security.

Conservation, Invasive and Endangered Species

  • Center for aquatic and invasive plants (University of Florida)
    The UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants is a multidisciplinary research, teaching and extension unit directed to develop environmentally sound techniques for the management of aquatic and natural area weed species and to coordinate aquatic plant research activities within the State of Florida.
  • Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health at the University of Georgia
    The mission of the Center for Invasive Species & Ecosystem Health is to serve a lead role in development, consolidation and dissemination of information and programs focused on invasive species, forest health, natural resource and agricultural management through technology development, program implementation, training, applied research and public awareness at the state, regional, national and international levels.
  • Center for Plant Conservation (CPC)
    The Center for Plant Conservation (CPC) is dedicated solely to preventing the extinction of U.S. native plants. The Center was one of the first organizations created to meet this need. The Center is a network of 39 leading botanic institutions. Founded in 1984, the Center operates the only coordinated national program of off-site (ex situ) conservation of rare plant material.
  • Conservation Agriculture Group at Cornell University
    Conservation Agriculture (CA) is a set of soil management practices that minimize the disruption of the soil's structure, composition and natural biodiversity. CA has proven potential to improve crop yields, while improving the long-term environmental and financial sustainability of farming.
  • As the body of CA literature and publications grows, the Cornell University Conservation Agriculture Group helps people to access these resources.
  • CPC National Plant Collection Finder (Center for Plant Conservation)
    The Center's National Collection of Endangered Plants contains plant material for more than 700 of the country's most imperiled native plants. An important conservation resource, the Collection is a back up in case a species becomes extinct or no longer reproduces in the wild. Search the National Collection and view the plant profiles to learn more about these beautiful, imperiled plants.
  • Endangered Species - U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
    As the principal federal partner responsible for administering the Endangered Species Act (ESA), we take the lead in recovering and conserving our Nation's imperiled species by fostering partnerships, employing scientific excellence, and developing a workforce of conservation leaders.
  • Federal noxious weeds program (USDA)
    The APHIS Federal noxious weed program is designed to prevent the introduction into the United States of nonindigenous invasive plants. APHIS noxious weed activities include exclusion and permitting and (in cooperation with other agencies and state agencies) integrated management of introduced weeds, including biological control.
  • Global Forest Watch (GFW)
    Aninteractive online forest monitoring and alert system designed to empower people everywhere with the information they need to better manage and conserve forest landscapes.
  • The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
    Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global conservation status of animal, fungi and plant species.
  • Missouri Prairie Foundation (MPF)
    The Missouri Prairie Foundation publishes the Missouri Prairie Journal to provide the best possible information about prairie protection and restoration in the Midwest.
  • NatureServe
    A non-profit organization that provides high-quality scientific expertise for conservation. Our dynamic and impactful data, tools, and resources help guide conservation action where it’s needed most.
  • New Jersey's Endangered and Threatened Wildlife
    The lists of New Jersey's endangered and threatened wildlife species are maintained by the Division of Fish and Wildlife's Endangered and Nongame Species Program (ENSP). These lists are used to determine protection and management actions necessary to ensure the survival of the state's endangered, threatened and other nongame wildlife.
  • Pest Tracker - Exotic Pest Reporting
    From the National Agricultural Pest Information System (NAPIS), publishes distribution maps for pests of agricultural and forest commodities.
  • UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre
    The Centre provides objective, scientifically rigorous products and services to help decision makers learn about the value of biodiversity and apply this knowledge. We not only collate and verify data on biodiversity and ecosystem services but also analyse and interpret it, making the results available to our partners in accessible forms.
  • Weed Gallery (Rutgers University Cooperative Extension)
    A collection of photos and descriptions of weeds found in New Jersey.
  • World Overview of Conservation Approaches and Tehcnologies ( WOCAT )
    An established global network of Soil and Water Conservation (SWC) specialists, dedicated to sustainable land management (SLM).

Maps & Images by Place

California and related websites