Researching the Spanish Civil War (HIST 435C)

"Since his departure from Spain with the end of the civil war (1936-1939), Carlos Esplá kept an important archive composed mainly of correspondence, press and originals of his writings.”
In cooperation with Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes.

A remarkable collection of photographic images from the Spanish Civil War.
Originally created by the Junta de Defensa de Madrid to document atrocities, later used by the Franco government to identify and repress "republicanos".
Maintained by the Spanish Ministry of Culture and Sports.

A collection of digitized newspapers. (18th century - present day; facsimiles)

A commemoration of the 80th anniversary of the Spanish Civil War by the University of California at Berkeley.
Selections from The Bancroft Library’s Veterans of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Bay Area Post Records and Photograph Collections.
(1936-1941; digital exhibits, posters, poetry, etc.)

The collection of Spanish Civil War posters in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division consists of approximately 120 posters created between 1936 and 1939.
The posters warned of the evils of communism and fascism and called citizens to action for a variety of causes such as food production and conservation.

The records of Fond 545 reflect activities of the International Brigades and military units which took part in the civil war on the side of the Republican Army of Spain in 1936 – 1939. (1936-1939; Spanish facsimiles with Russian and English interface)

To commemorate the outbreak of the Spanish Civil War, British Pathé has launched this definitive collection of films from that conflict.
Compiled by British Pathé. (1936-1939; video; English interface)

Digital access to over 13,000 pages of archival materials provided by the University of Warwick Library.
Archives are full-text searchable or browseable.
(1934-1940; facsimiles, transcriptions and commentary)

From the Southworth Spanish Civil War Collection at the University of California at San Diego.
(1934-1939; facsimile images)