It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College of the Canyons - Chemistry: Scientific Writing
The Art of Scientific Writing by H. F. Ebel; Claus Bliefert; William E. RusseyMost scientists live in a "publish or perish" environment, but few would describe themselves as brilliant (or enthusiastic) writers. Coming to the aid of all those wishing to improve the quality of their scientific writing -- established researchers and aspiring students alike -- three experienced authors/scientists from differing backgrounds and cultures have compiled this classic guide. This new edition has been completely revised to reflect dramatic changes in communication over the past 15 years. The primary emphasis is on writing techniques, accurate expression, adherence to accepted standards, and above all clarity, but the authors also venture into communication technology and organizational as well as ethical aspects of science. Numerous appendices and a particularly comprehensive index complete this highly useful book. "The authors have a passion, not only for clarity and economy of style, but also for precision and consistency." (Nature) "A wealth of information contained in a single book of manageable proportions. Students reporting on a simple laboratory experiment and their teachers preparing a paper or lecture will both find this book a constant companion." (European Science Editing) "The book under review claims, 'we know of no book as broad in its coverage, as critical in its analysis of existing trends, and as international in its scope'. This claim is immodest but accurate." (Trends in Pharmacological Sciences)
Publication Date: 2004-03-12
Ideas into Words: Mastering the Craft of Science Writing by Elise Hancock; Robert Kanigel (Foreword by)"I am so proud to be Elise's student. Read this book and I suspect you will be too."--from the foreword by Robert Kanigel, author of The Man Who Knew Infinity From the latest breakthroughs in medical research and information technologies to new discoveries about the diversity of life on earth, science is becoming both more specialized and more relevant. Consequently, the need for writers who can clarify these breakthroughs and discoveries for the general public has become acute. In Ideas into Words, Elise Hancock, a professional writer and editor with thirty years of experience, provides both novice and seasoned science writers with the practical advice and canny insights they need to take their craft to the next level. Rich with real-life examples and anecdotes, this book covers the essentials of science writing: finding story ideas, learning the science, opening and shaping a piece, polishing drafts, overcoming blocks, and conducting interviews with scientists and other experts who may not be accustomed to making their ideas understandable to lay readers. Hancock's wisdom will prove useful to anyone pursuing nonfiction writing as a career. She devotes an entire chapter to habits and attitudes that writers should cultivate, another to structure, and a third to the art of revision. Some of her advice is surprising (she cautions against slavish use of transitions, for example); all of it is hard-earned, astute, and wittily conveyed. This concise guide is essential reading for every writer attempting to explain the world of science to the rest of us.
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Writing for Science by Robert GoldbortThis exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today’s experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications. Robert Goldbort discusses how best to approach various writing tasks as well as how to deal with the everyday complexities that may get in the way of ideal practice--difficult collaborators, experiments gone wrong, funding rejections. He underscores the importance of an ethical approach to science and scientific communication and insists on the necessity of full disclosure. For working scientists, those seeking employment in the sciences, students taking on writing assignments or oral presentations, and professionals who hope to publish or acquire funding, this volume is an essential resource.
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Metaphor and Knowledge: The Challenges of Writing Science by Ken BaakeAnalyzing the power of metaphor in the rhetoric of science, this book examines the use of words to express complex scientific concepts. Metaphor and Knowledge offers a sweeping history of rhetoric and metaphor in science, delving into questions about how language constitutes knowledge. Weaving together insights from a group of scientists at the Santa Fe Institute as they shape the new interdisciplinary field of complexity science, Ken Baake shows the difficulty of writing science when word meanings are unsettled, and he analyzes the power of metaphor in science. He argues that metaphors function as musical notes, which sound "harmonics" in the process of transferring ideas from one term to another. These harmonics force scientists to confront implications, even paradoxes, of a theory.
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Science As Writing by David LockeFor many years it has been assumed that a great gulf exists between science and the humanities, that the writings of science are simply the record of things scientists do and find and are devoid of literary features. Recently this assumption has been challenged by those who regard science and literature as companion endeavors, working side by side to describe, in their respective ways, the world of human experience. Now David Locke, a professor of literature who has also been a scientist, joins the debate, arguing that scientific language can be highly imaginative, expressive, and self-conscious and demonstrating for the first time how the major modes of literary criticism can be keys to the reading of scientific texts. Locke takes up in sequence six critical perspectives on reading. These view literary texts as: essentially a representation of the real world; an expression of its author's thoughts and feelings; an activator of response from its readers; a work of art, interesting in its purely formal properties; an artifact situated in a social milieu; or an instrument that brings the world of phenomena into being. Locke applies these perspectives to the reading of a variety of scientific texts, from works by Galileo and Darwin to writings in contemporary molecular biology and theoretical physics. Locke suggests that attention to the literary qualities of scientific discourse will aid in further opening up the literary canon and widening the practice of literary criticism, even as it sharpens science's growing interest in, and understanding of, its own mode of operation.
Publication Date: 1992-10-28
The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2004 by Tim Folger (Editor); Steven Pinker (Editor)In his introduction to The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2004, Steven Pinker writes that the best science writing "gives readers the blissful click, the satisfying aha!, of seeing a puzzling phenomenon explained." Here to deliver the blissful click are many of the most "eclectic, provocative" (Entertainment Weekly) science and nature essays written in 2003. Geoffrey Nunberg turns to linguistics to expose the grammar police, Scott Antran questions received wisdom regarding the root causes of terrorism, and Peggy Orenstein shows that trends in baby names are not inspired by . . . just about any external cause. Straight from the Cape Codder comes Mike O'Connor's "Ask the Bird Folks," from a weekly column that strikes a tone far from, as Steven Pinker puts it, "the worshipful sonorities found in much nature writing." Also on the creature front, Meredith Small shares with readers the pleasures of primatology (while for the first time explaining satisfactorily why primates groom), and Eric Scigliano gives us the eerie, and eerily intelligent, world of octopuses. (Read Steven Pinker if you aren't convinced that the plural of octopus is octopuses.) Atul Gawande profiles the great innovative surgeon Francis Moore, a man who essentially remade modern surgery -- and then could not live with the consequences -- and Jennet Conant captures the engaging, irreverent, and ever-provocative James Watson. Chet Raymo's musing on the modern universe story gives elegant insight into the cosmic place of physics, chemistry, and biology -- but not before first harking back to the days when "boys took physics (and went on to become engineers and automobile mechanics), girls took biology (and became nurses and homemakers), and nobody took chemistry if they could help it (except a few nerds who wanted to make stink bombs)."
Publication Date: 2004-10-14
Reading and Writing in Science by Douglas Fisher (Editor); Maria C. Grant (Editor)Coauthored by a science educator and a literacy expert, this book offers science teachers a collection of research-based literacy strategies to help students develop science vocabulary, comprehend science textbooks and other reading materials, and engage in writing assignments that lead to better understanding of science content. To help teachers enhance and deepen science content learning, Reading and Writing in Science: Strategies to Develop Disciplinary Literacy includes science-specific examples to illustrate the teaching strategies. The authors also provide structures for scaffolding textbook access, ways for teachers to expand literacy in the classroom through the use of trade books, and methods for assessing student learning.
Publication Date: 2009-10-21
Writing in the Biological Sciences by Angelika HofmannPractical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences provides students with all of the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines ofprofessional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biological sciences - or as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses and laboratories with writing-intensive components - this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in their undergraduate sciencecareers and beyond.
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Writing Science by Joshua SchimelAs a scientist, you are a professional writer: your career is built on successful proposals and papers. Success isn't defined by getting papers into print, but by getting them into the reader's consciousness. Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story.It uses that insight to discuss how to write more effectively. Integrating lessons from other genres of writing with those from the author's years of experience as author, reviewer, and editor, the book shows scientists and students how to present their research in a way that is clear and that willmaximize reader comprehension.The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words. It begins by building core arguments, analyzing why somestories are engaging and memorable while others are quickly forgotten, and proceeds to the elements of story structure, showing how the structures scientists and researchers use in papers and proposals fit into classical models. The book targets the internal structure of a paper, explaining how towrite clear and professional sections, paragraphs, and sentences in a way that is clear and compelling. The ideas within a paper should flow seamlessly, drawing readers along. The final section of the book deals with special challenges, such as how to discuss research limitations and how to writefor the public. Writing Science is a much-needed guide to succeeding in modern science. Its insights and strategies will equip science students, scientists, and professionals across a wide range of scientific and technical fields with the tools needed to communicate effectively.
Publication Date: 2011-11-29
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Robert A. Day; Barbara GastelTo be useful, scientific research needs to be explained clearly to others to colleagues, to administrators, to foundations and governmental bodies, and to the public. This thoroughly revised edition of the classic "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" gives beginning scientists and experienced researchers alike practical advice on writing about their work and publishing what they write. The core of the book consists of a how-to guide to writing and publishing research articles for scientific journals, explaining every step of the process, from choosing a suitable journal for your work to presenting the results and citing references. "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" is the essential guide every scientist needs to achieve success in today's competitive environment. This revised edition of "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" provides such practical advice for anyone working in any scientific discipline who needs to communicate his or her work effectively to others."
Publication Date: 2006-03-30
Scientific Writing by Jean-Luc LebrunGiven that scientific material can be hard to comprehend, sustained attention and memory retention become major reader challenges. Scientific writers must not only present their science, but also work hard to generate and sustain the interest of readers. Attention-getters, sentence progression, expectation-setting, and "memory offloaders" are essential devices to keep readers and reviewers engaged. The writer needs to have a clear understanding of the role played by each part of a paper, from its eye-catching title to its eye-opening conclusion. This book walks through the main parts of a paper; that is, those parts which create the critical first impression. The unique approach in this book is its focus on the reader rather than the writer. Senior scientists who supervise staff and postgraduates can use the book to review drafts and to help with the writing as well as the science. Young researchers can find solid guidelines that reduce the confusion all new writers face. Published scientists can finally move from what feels right to what is right, identifying mistakes they thought were acceptable, and fully appreciating their responsibility: to guide the reader along carefully laid-out reading tracks.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The Hand of Science by Blaise CroninThe collaborative character of science and scholarship, whether formal or informal in nature, is the focus of this discussion by a master of the subject. The world of scholarly communication is evolving with exponential speed. Propelled by the Web and the rapid transition from paper to electronic journals, the scale of the research effort is moving from the individual to research conducted by dozens of scientists scattered all over the globe. These changes evoke many questions: What does it mean to be an author in an age of collective effort? How are responsibility and credit allocated in collaborative endeavors? What is the relationship between reading, referencing and reputation - the political economy of citation? How are social relations inscribed in intellectual space? Will the move to online and open access publishing provide new measures of authorial salience and intellectual impact? Cronin answers these questions as he captures the complex relationship between authorship and the reward system of science.
Publication Date: 2005-02-10
Communication in Science
Communicating in Science by Vernon BoothWriting scientific papers and giving talks at meetings and conferences are essential parts of research scientists' work, and this short, straightforwardly written book will help workers in all scientific disciplines to present their results effectively. The first chapter is about writing a scientific paper and is a revision of a prize-winning essay. Later chapters discuss the preparation of typescripts, speaking at meetings and writing theses. There are also chapters addressed particularly to those scientists to whom English is a foreign language and to those in North America. The last chapter gives information about dictionaries, style books and other literature. The book draws on the author's wealth of experience in presenting his own work and in editing the work of others, and he draws his examples from a range of subjects.
Publication Date: 1993-03-25
Scientific Writing and Communication by Angelika HofmannScientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Third Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with adiscussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Publication Date: 2016-11-17
Successful Science Communication by David J. Bennett (Editor); Richard C. Jennings (Editor); Walter Bodmer (Foreword by)In the 25 years since the 'Bodmer Report' kick-started the public understanding of science movement, there has been something of a revolution in science communication. However, despite the ever-growing demands of the public, policy-makers and the media, many scientists still find it difficult to successfully explain and publicise their activities or to understand and respond to people's hopes and concerns about their work. Bringing together experienced and successful science communicators from across the academic, commercial and media worlds, this practical guide fills this gap to provide a one-stop resource covering science communication in its many different forms. The chapters provide vital background knowledge and inspiring ideas for how to deal with different situations and interest groups. Entertaining personal accounts of projects ranging from podcasts, to science festivals, to student-run societies give working examples of how scientists can engage with their audiences and demonstrate the key ingredients in successful science communication.
Publication Date: 2011-09-29
Science Communication by Laura Bowater; Stephen Asworth; Kay YeomanScience communication is a rapidly expanding area and meaningful engagement between scientists and the public requires effective communication. Designed to help the novice scientist get started with science communication, this unique guide begins with a short history of science communication before discussing the design and delivery of an effective engagement event. Along with numerous case studies written by highly regarded international contributors, the book discusses how to approach face-to-face science communication and engagement activities with the public while providing tips to avoid potential pitfalls. This book has been written for scientists at all stages of their career, including undergraduates and postgraduates wishing to engage with effective science communication for the first time, or looking to develop their science communication portfolio.
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science by Scott L. MontgomeryWhether you are a graduate student or a senior scientist, your reputation rests on the ability to communicate your ideas and data. In this straightforward and accessible guide, Scott L. Montgomery offers detailed, practical advice on crafting every sort of scientific communication, from research papers and conference talks to review articles, interviews with the media, e-mail messages, and more. Montgomery avoids the common pitfalls of other guides by focusing not on rules and warnings but instead on how skilled writers and speakers actually learn their trade-by imitating and adapting good models of expression. Moving step-by-step through samples from a wide variety of scientific disciplines, he shows precisely how to choose and employ such models, where and how to revise different texts, how to use visuals to enhance your presentation of ideas, why writing is really a form of experimentation, and more. He also traces the evolution of scientific expression over time, providing a context crucial for understanding the nature of technical communication today. Other chapters take up the topics of writing creatively in science; how to design and use graphics; and how to talk to the public about science. Written with humor and eloquence, this book provides a unique and realistic guide for anyone in the sciences wishing to improve his or her communication skills. Practical and concise, The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science covers: *Writing scientific papers, abstracts, grant proposals, technical reports, and articles for the general public *Using graphics effectively *Surviving and profiting from the review process *Preparing oral presentations *Dealing with the press and the public *Publishing and the Internet *Writing in English as a foreign language
Publication Date: 2003-02-15
Communicating Science by Alan G. Gross; Joseph E. Harmon; Michael S. ReidyThis book describes the development of the scientific article from its modest beginnings to the global phenomenon that it has become today. Their analysis of a large sample of texts in French, English, and German focuses on the changes in the style, organization, and argumentative structure of scientific communication over time. They also speculate on the future currency of the scientific article, as it enters the era of the World Wide Web. This book is an outstanding resource text in the rhetoric of science, and will stand as the definitive study on the topic.
Publication Date: 2002-04-11
Listen. Write. Present by Stephanie Roberson Barnard; Deborah St JamesEven the best ideas have little value if they are not explained clearly, concisely, and convincingly to others. Scientists, engineers, health care professionals, and technology specialists become leaders in their fields not just by way of discovery, but by communication. In this essential book, two seasoned communication consultants offer specific, focused advice to help professionals develop, improve, and polish their interpersonal communication, writing, and presentation skills. The authors explain exactly how to manage multiple projects and interactions, collaborate with colleagues and others, gain support for ideas through presentations and proposals, and much more.
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
Communicating Science by Pierre LaszloDo you have new and interesting - even outstanding - results that you wish to be recognized by your scientific colleagues, or understood by the public? Do you want to convey your ideas to policy decision makers? Communicating Science is the book to consult. Separate sections offer advice on reaching peers, the general public or decision makers. Each of these main parts includes two subsections, Guidelines and Genres, with entries arranged in alphabetical order. This book will be useful to anyone having to convert scientific data into an easily intelligible and interesting narrative.
Publication Date: 2006-07-17
Communicating Biological Sciences by Brigitte Nerlich; Richard Elliott; Brendon LarsonCommunicating Biological Sciences discusses the 'ethics' of science communication in light of recent developments in biotechnology and biomedicine. It focuses on the role of metaphors in the creation of visions and the framing of scientific advances, as well as their impact on patterns of public acceptance and rejection, trust and scepticism. Its rigorous investigation will appeal not only to science writers and scientists, but also to scholars of sociology, science and technology studies, media and journalism.
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Publishing in Science
The ACS Style Guide by Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Call Number: Online access from ACS website
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
Cite Right by Charles LipsonIn his bestselling guide, Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success, veteran teacher Charles Lipson brought welcome clarity to the principles of academic honesty as well as to the often murky issues surrounding plagiarism in the digital age. Thousands of students have turned to Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly—and avoid plagiarism—when writing their research papers. With his latest book, Cite Right, Lipson once again provides much-needed counsel in a concise and affordable handbook for students and researchers. Building on Doing Honest Work in College, Lipson’s new book offers a wealth of information on an even greater range of citation styles and details the intricacies of many additional kinds of sources. Lipson’s introductory essay, “Why Cite,” explains the reasons it is so important to use citations—and to present them accurately—in research writing. In subsequent chapters, Lipson explains the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry, mathematics, and computer science); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy; Bluebook and ALWD (law); and AAA (anthropology and ethnography). His discussions of these styles are presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to science, law, and medicine. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches, Cite Right is an accessible, one-stop resource—a must-have guide for students and researchers alike who need to prepare citations in any of the major disciplines and professional studies.
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
A Century of Science Publishing by E. H. Fredriksson (Editor)Publishers of the science publishing scene comment on key developments throughout the 20th century. Some characteristic publishing enterprises, commercial and society owned, are described in a series of articles, followed by analysis of developments and possible changes to come.
Publication Date: 2001-01-15
What Editors Want by Philippa J. Benson; Susan C. SilverResearch publications have always been key to building a successful career in science, yet little if any formal guidance is offered to young scientists on how to get research papers peer reviewed, accepted, and published by leading scientific journals. With What Editors Want, Philippa J. Benson and Susan C. Silver, two well-respected editors from the science publishing community, remedy that situation with a clear, straightforward guide that will be of use to all scientists. Benson and Silver instruct readers on how to identify the journals that are most likely to publish a given paper, how to write an effective cover letter, how to avoid common pitfalls of the submission process, and how to effectively navigate the all-important peer review process, including dealing with revisions and rejection. With supplemental advice from more than a dozen experts, this book will equip scientists with the knowledge they need to usher their papers through publication.
Publication Date: 2012-12-07
Guide to Publishing a Scientific Paper by Ann Mari Kornerup"Guide to Publishing a Scientific Paper" provides researchers in every field of the biological, physical and medical sciences with all the information necessary to prepare, submit for publication, and revise a scientific paper. The book includes details of every step in the process that is required for the publication of a scientific paper, for example, use of correct style and language choice of journal, use of the correct format, and adherence to journal guidelines submission of the manuscript in the appropriate format and with the appropriate cover letter and other materials the format for responses to reviewers' comments and resubmission of a revised manuscript The advice provided conforms to the most up-to-date specifications and even the seasoned writer will learn how procedures have changed in recent years, in particular with regard to the electronic submission of manuscripts. Every scientist who is preparing to write a paper should read this book before embarking on the preparation of a manuscript. This useful book also includes samples of letters to the Editor and responses to the Editor's comments and referees' criticism. In addition, as an Appendix, the book includes succinct advice on how to prepare an application for funding. The author has edited more than 7,500 manuscripts over the past twenty years and is, consequently, very familiar with all of the most common mistakes. Her book provides invaluable and straightforward advice on how to avoid these mistakes. Dr. K#65533;rner is a professional editor and writer. She has an undergraduate degree from the University of Cambridge and a doctorate in Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry from Yale University.
Publication Date: 2008-01-08
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and Its ImplicationsThe Symposium on Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical (STM) Journals and Its Implications addressed five key areas. The first two areas addressed--costs of publication and publication business models and revenue--focused on the STM publishing enterprise as it exists today and, in particular, how it has evolved since the advent of electronic publishing. The following section reviewed copyright and licensing issues of concern to the authors and to universities. The final two sessions looked toward the future, specifically, at what publishing may be in the future and what constitutes a publication in the digital environment.
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The Academic's Guide to Publishing by Rob Kitchin; Duncan FullerThis definitive guide to successfully publishing social science research demonstrates that completing a project is only the first phase of research. Dissemination is the second phase, and it requires specific skills and knowledge. The Academics' Guide to Publishing explains the different ways in which research can be disseminated: in journals, books, reports, the Internet, popular media, and conferences; demonstrates how the structures, practices and procedures involved work - making them easily understood and transparent; and situates research in the larger and changing context of Higher Education. For postgraduates or academics in the social sciences The Academics' Guide to Publishing provides essential guidance on how to secure a job, how to gain tenure, how to survive research assessment exercises, and how to obtain promotion.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.