It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder (1907 to present) is a comprehensive source for chemical information, covering scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. SciFinder requires each user to create their own account for access.
Reaxys (CSUF - does not subscribe)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (at the Reference Desk)
A source for physical science data that spans the full range of the physical sciences and focuses on key data needed by students and professionals.
Landolt-Börnstein Substance / Property Index
Lists all substances and their properties which are reported on in the indexed Landolt-Börnstein volumes. Over 160 000 organic and inorganic compounds are described by names, molecular structures, chemical abstract numbers and other identifiers.
CAS Common Chemistry
From Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
Data sheets for over 85,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, chemical elements, and composites.
NLM database of compounds, substances, and bioassays, focusing on the biological activities of small molecules.
Spectral Database System (SDBS)
Compiled by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology in Japan. Contains mass spec, proton and C13 NMR, FT-IR, Raman, and ESR data for about 34,000 compounds combined.
Korean Thermophysical Databank
"...provides useful inforamtion about thermophysical properties and calculation methods for hydrocarbons, light gases, polymers and electrolyte solutions commonly encountered in chemical engineering practices."
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 50 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
NIST Data Gateway
"The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines."
ChEMBL A manually curated chemical database of bioactive molecules with drug-like properties.
Print (also available online)
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, CRC by Robert C. Weast (Editor)
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Sometimes nicknamed the "Rubber Bible" or the "Rubber Book."
The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Sometimes referred to as the "bible" of chemistry.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Eighth Edition by Don W. Green; Robert H. Perry
Publication Date: 2007-11-13
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data.
Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals by Philip H. Howard; William M. Meylan
Publication Date: 1996-12-27
Provides an easily accessed information on the structure and physical/chemical properties of more than 13,000 environmentally important chemicals,
Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties and Environmental Fate for Organic Chemicals by Wan Ying Shiu; Kuo-Ching Ma; Sum Chi Lee; Donald Mackay
Publication Date: 2006-03-14
The Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties and Environmental Fate for Organic Chemicals is a comprehensive series in four volumes that serves as a reference source for environmentally relevant physical-chemical property data of numerous groups of chemical substances.
Yaws Handbook of Physical Properties by Carl Yaws
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
A compendium of over 41,000 organic and inorganic chemicals, this broad, ambitious, and invaluable work covers c1 to c100 organics and Ac to Zr inorganics, with useful applications for chemical engineers and students.
Handbook of Physical Properties of Liquids and Gases by Y. S. Touloukian (Preface by); N. B. Vargaftik
Publication Date: 2014-04-13
This book provides numerical data on physical and thermodynamic properties of a large number of elements and compounds. SI units are used throughout, and in addition, an adequate set of conversion tables is included.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition by James Speight
Publication Date: 2016-10-05
The standard reference for chemists for more than 70 years, this resource contains vast amounts of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.