Skip to Main Content

Environmental Studies 520 - Dr. Lewinnek: Background

Course-specific library guide for Dr. Lewinnek's Spring 2023 Environmental Studies 520: Environmental Research & Analysis.

From Wikipedia: About Citing Wikipedia

Wikipedia: Academic Use
Wikipedia is not considered a credible source, it is a tertiary source for information. Read their thoughts concerning academic use.
Wikipedia on their Reliability
Wikipedia allows anonymous editing: contributors are not required to provide any identification, or even an email address.
Wikipedia Founder Discourages Academic Use of His Creation
Article from the Chronicle of Higher Education, by Jeffrey R. Young.
Mining the 'Depths of Wikipedia' - New York Times
Article highlighting the popular IG account showcasing the weirdest finds from Wikipedia 55 million+ articles.
State Slogans by Wikipedia
A great example of the peer-editing model gone wrong.

Using Google

Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, preprints, and more. Access through the library to see CSUF subscriptions, or allow in Settings under "Library Links."
Google Newspaper Archive
Browse listing of all historical newspapers digitized and available online free from Google.
Google Magazine Archive
Collection of digitized magazines including Time, Life, New York Magazine, and Boys Life.

Background

Gale eBooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Scholarly dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and more. Includes resources for all disciplines taught on this campus. Great resource for starting your background research.
Oxford Reference
Multidisciplinary reference books. Great for trusted and concise information on a person, concept, or term.
Biography Index
Includes autobiographies, interviews, obituaries, letters, diaries, memoirs, book reviews, and more.
Biography Index Retrospective
Biographical content from periodicals including articles, interviews, profiles, and book citations of history-makers.
Opposing Viewpoints
Covers a wide range of controversial topics. Includes primary sources, articles, statistics and more.
CQ Researcher
Reports on controversial social, economic, political, education, health, environment, technology, and issues back to 1923.

Verifying Journal Information

Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Directory of academic journals, e-journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Helps determine the peer-review status of a publication.
SCOPUS
Click on Sources along the top bar to search by publication. SCOPUS provides a Citescore, number of citations, and other metrics on thousands of academic journals.

General Database Search Strategies

database search

The * character is used as a wildcard: effect* searches for effects, effecting, effected
AND narrows the search results
OR expands search results (used for synonyms or related words)
NOT excludes terms from a search
Use " " for phrase specific searching

What kind of source is this?

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2023 1:38 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.fullerton.edu/ENST520
Print Page

Subjects: Course Guides, Environmental Studies

Tags: enst, ENST520, Lewinnek

This site is maintained by Pollak Library.

To report problems or comments with this site, please contact libraryanswers@fullerton.edu.
© California State University, Fullerton. All Rights Reserved.

Web Accessibility

CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.