Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communications--Entertainment & Tourism: For Faculty

Library update information for CCOM Faculty: Fall 2021

Welcome back College of Communications faculty!  John Hickok here, your COMM/HCOM/CTVA Librarian Liaison.  As you know, I provide support to you in several ways: library instruction sessions for your classes, research help for your students, library purchase recommendations from you, assistance with your scholarly research, etc.   Below are details about what to expect, regarding the library, for Fall semester 2021:
IN-PERSON ACCESS TO THE LIBRARY
The library is again open for in-person use (book browsing, studying, etc.)  Per the Fall 2021 Presidential Directive 22 update, masks are required for everyone entering the library, regardless of vaccination status.  Southside 4th & 5th floors now open: I'm delighted to inform you the fully rennovated 4th & 5th floors of the library's southside wing are finally now open.  Come take a look; the new interiors are beautiful (book shelves and study spaces)!
CHECKING-OUT BOOKS
In-person: books can once again be browsed in-person on the shelves, and checked-out at the Circulation Desk: 1st floor, southside.  
Self-pickup using outside lockers: if going to the Circulation Desk in-person is not convenient for you, books can also be requested online, and picked up from lockers outside the library's southside glass doors, facing the Quad/McCarthy Hall (similar to the Amazon lockers at the TSU).  Here's how it works: (1) Search for the book you want using OneSearch on the library’s homepage; (2) Click the book’s title, then click the “Sign in for more options” link; (3) Follow the instructions to send your book to a locker.  If you have any problems or questions, contact libcirc@fullerton.edu or 657-278-2721.  New! Instant check-out with MeeScan:  MeeScan is an app that you can download onto your smart phone from new kiosks in the library.  The app allows you to scan a book’s barcode to check it out instantly, without having to go to the circulation desk.  A demo video of using MeeScan is here (from another library, but the procedure is the same).
RETURNING BOOKS
To return books—including overdue books—simply bring them to the Circulation Desk, 1st floor southside.  Or, use any of the library’s 3 outdoor return bins: (a) by the south-side sliding glass doors, facing the Quad/McCarthy Hall; (b) by the west doors, facing the Bookstore; (c) in the big silver bin, in the Lot I faculty parking lot (between EC and ECS) next to the disabled parking stalls.  
INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Interlibrary Loan is in full operation.  This includes both e-materials (PDFs of articles) and physical books—whether from other CSU campuses (CSU+) or outside universities.  Pickup of physical books is at the Circulation Desk, as usual.
LIBRARY RESERVE (PRINT BOOKS)
Placing print books on Library Reserve is again available.  To do so, go to this page and fill out the form.  You can also check the Library's catalog, OneSearchto see if your print book is available as a library e-book; if so, you can create a link to the e-book for your students—simply go to the OneSearch e-book record and click “permalink” at the top to create a link (see steps
here).  
 If no e-book version is available, the library can digitize limited portions of your print book (within practical and copyright constraints) into e-reserves.  To request this, contact the library at libraryreserves@fullerton.edu or 657-278-2721, and specify which library book it is.  Or, if it is your own print copy, bring it to the Circulation Desk, 1st floor southside.  You can also scan portions of your print book yourself, and place them on your class Canvas page.
E-TEXTBOOKS
A hot topic is the availability of e-textbooks. Some of you, in preparing your Fall curriculum, have already chosen e-textbooks through your publisher. Some of you may be choosing free Open Access textbooks (OA textbooks are listed
here). The library can check and see if your textbook is purchasable and affordable as a multi-user library e-book.  However, please understand this is not always possible.  Many publishers refuse to make e-textbooks available to libraries, and instead only allow individual student purchases to maintain their profits (this industry practice is well-stated by another library, here).
LIBRARY VIDEOS (STREAMING AND DVDs)
Streaming: the library has a large collection of streaming videos related to COMM (documentaries, feature films, etc.)  These are all cataloged in our OneSearch catalog.  For example, if you wanted to view the advertising documentary Killing Us Softly, typing it in OneSearch brings it up with a link to view via streaming. Our streaming videos come from several vendors: Kanopy, Avon, Swank, PBS, etc.  (See FAQs on Kanopy and Swank, below).  Understandably, our streaming collection won’t include every title you may need.  So if there are specific titles you need that are not in OneSearch, you can contact me, or our purchasing librarian Keri Prelitz (kprelitz@fullerton.edu) and we can try to purchase. However, keep in mind institutional streaming subscriptions are much more expensive than for an individual person (like a $2.99 Amazon rental), so our being able to get your title(s) is not guaranteed.

DVDs: for those of you who wish to show actual DVDs to your classes—either your own, or owned by the library—the library is partnering with CSUF’s Online Education & Training (OET) to digitize DVDs into streaming format to view via a secure ShareStream link, which you can post in Canvas for your students.  To do this, contact the library at libcirc@fullerton.edu or 657-278-2721, and specify what library DVD it is, and also inform OET by submitting this form.  If it is your own DVD, bring it to the Circulation Desk for drop-off.
LIBRARY INSTRUCTION SESSIONS
In-person library instruction sessions are once again available.  To request me, the procedure is the same as always: make a request at the online
Library Instruction Scheduler form.  I can come to your classroom, or you can bring your class to the library.  I can also still provide virtual library instruction: either synchronous (live Zoom sessions, scheduled whenever you like) or asynchronous (pre-recorded training videos I can make, which you can post on Canvas for your students to watch/playback at their convenience). 
IN-PERSON & ONLINE LIBRARIAN ASSISTANCE
Any librarian.  In-person Librarian assistance is again available at the Library's Reference Desk, 1st floor northside. Online librarian assistance is still available to you and your students 24/7!  Simply click the Get Help icon at the top of the library’s homepage.  During the workweek daytimes (M-F, 10a-5p) my fellow CSUF Library faculty and I monitor the online chat window. Afterhours and weekends, we contract with a professional librarian chat service to monitor the window (professional librarians familiar with our library e-resources).
Specifically with me.  For any of your students who need special assistance, I can help them 1-on-1 via email, phone, Zoom, or in-person.  Students can request this using the online Research Consultation formNote: these individual consultations are not a substitute for whole-class instruction; I am happy to assist individual students, but cannot accommodate an entire class of 30+ students all requesting individual consultations at the same time for general library training.  For that, please schedule a class instruction session.

DATABASES: CHANGES!
Several changes to have occurred this past year and summer regarding databases.

New database launch page: the "Databases" icon on the library's homepage now takes you to a new launch page.  You will still see the A-Z list of all the library's databases, but the previous subject grouping of the COMM/HCOM/CTVA databases is not as visible now (now in a pull-down menu).  
Cancelled:  SRDS.  SRDS, the media directory database, was not being used enough to warrant the subscription price, and was cancelled.  I created a workaround--an alternate guide of online media directories--here

New: California News (Newsbank) and Access World (Newsbank).  Newsbank is a competing newspaper database vendor to ProQuest.  We have subscribed to to Newsbank's California Custom News database (full text of all California newspapers, showing the actual PDF scans of newspaper pages, not just the text); and Newsbank's Access World (US and World newspapers).  We're still keeping our ProQuest news databases, since the LA Times is exclusively there.
Moved: OC Register.  For years the OC Register was in the ProQuest US Newsstand database.  It has now switched over to the Newsbank's California Custom News database.
New: Statisa.  I'm thrilled to announce that the library is now subscribing to the Statista database!  This will allow you & your students to find statistics on any topic, with the source citation included.

New: AP-Newsroom.  Our "AP-Images" (EBSCO) database is upgrading to a new interface, called "AP-Newsroom", directly from the AP website.  But we're keeping the AP-Images (EBSCO) version, for a while, during the transition.

New: American Film Scripts Online.  This is a great new database of over 1,000 full-text film scripts!

New: Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980, Black Life in America.  These two historical newspaper databases provide Hispanic and Black newspapers going back to the 1800s.

New: Simmons Insights-MRI.  The previous "MRI+" database (for consumer demographics) has been completely retooled to a new version called Simmons Insights-MRI.  The new version is different (and rather complicated) to use, so I will be launching a training guide & video soon.
Name changes: Gale Virtual Reference Library is renamed to "Gale eBooks"; Opposing Viewpoints is renamed to "Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints"
E-BOOKS
The Library’s OneSearch catalog provides e-books from many vendors: ProQuest, EBSCO, O'Reilly and more.  One of them—O'Reilly—has confusing instructions on how to access their e-books.  So, in case you come across an O'Reilly e-book, here’s how you access it: 1. In OneSearch, when you click on the title of an O'Reilly e-book, you will get a message from O'Reilly stating you must log-in, and gives you a pulldown menu of “Select your institution.” 2. On the pulldown menu, CSUF won’t be listed.  Instead, choose the top choice: “Not listed? Click here.” 3. It will then ask for your email; enter your CSUF email. 4. O'Reilly will then authenticate you, and from that point forward, you will no longer see these messages…you will go directly into the e-books. (These 4 steps are illustrated with screenshots in the PDF at the bottom on this guide).
UPDATED LIBRARY GUIDES FOR YOUR DEPARTMENTS
I have updated my online library guides (with tips, instructions, resources) for all of your departments.  I've included new information, like suggestions for graduate students.  You can see the updated guides here: COMM, HCOM, CTVA.
LEGANTO: AN ORGANIZING TOOL FOR CANVAS
The library purchased a tool to help you organize your e-resources (e-articles, e-book excerpts, streaming videos, etc.) in Canvas.  It is called Leganto.  If you would like to learn about using it, click here.
NOONTIME TALKS: OPEN SLOTS AVAILABLE!
The library's "Noontime Talks" series has been very popular for faculty to share their research and interests.  We have had several CCOM faculty, the past few years, participate.  If you would like to do so, great!  The more CCOM is represented the better!  These are the available noontime dates: September 14,21.  October 5,12,19,26.  November 2,9,16,30.  To sign up, email my Librarian colleague Joy Sage, jsage@fullerton.edu.  


If you have any questions I haven’t covered above, feel free to email me!  I am happy to assist.  Sincerely,

John Hickok
College of Communications Librarian
California State University Fullerton
jhickok@fullerton.edu

FAQ's on Kanopy streaming video

 
 

Where do you access CSUF's Kanopy video collection?

Our Kanopy video collection (and videos from our other streaming vendors) is integrated into the library's catalog, OneSearch, instead of listed at the A-Z databases page.  This is because databases are typically assumed to be for articles, whereas our OneSearch catalog contains books and media.  
How do you search for Kanopy titles in OneSearch?
First, go to the library's homepage.  You'll see OneSearch in the middle of the screen.  You can search the single, default search box you see there, but I recommend the ADVANCED SEARCH, which you see to the right.  In the Advanced Search you can do the following: (1) set the circle, at the top, to: CSUF Books & Media.  (2) on the first line, type the title of your film. (3) to the right, use the pulldown arrows to make it: "Title" "Starts with".  (4) Then hit the green search button.  That's it!   If we have your title in our Kanopy collection (those we have subscriptions to), then the catalog record of your film will display with the link directly to Kanopy to begin viewing.   For example, if you wanted to see Chuck Workman's 2013 documentary What is Cinema?, simply follow the steps above, and you will see the catalog record show up for it, with the link to Kanopy to begin watching.
Once you find your Kanopy video record in the library catalog, how do you copy the URL link to it? (the "permalink")
Once you are at the OneSearch library catalog record for your video, you will see a little button at the top called "permalink".  If you click it, it copies the URL to the OneSearch library catalog record for your video.  You can then share this  URL with your students (email or Titanium/Canvas).  Note: this URL is not the URL of the actual Kanopy site with the video ready to play.  Rather, it is to the library catalog record, showing the link to Kanopy.  In other words, this URL is the launching point to Kanopy.  For example, clicking "permalink" for What is Cinema? generates the URL: https://csuf-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1tjtdoq/01CALS_ALMA71519150860002901
Why bother with a library catalog launching-point URL?  Why not just provide the URL directly to the Kanopy film?
Admittedly, it is possible to paste the direct Kanopy URL of your film.  At the library's catalog record, when you click on the link to Kanopy, it then takes you to the direct Kanopy URL.  For example, the direct Kanopy URL for What is Cinema? is here: https://fullerton.kanopy.com/video/what-cinema   The advantage of using the library URL is that is keeps users in the OneSearch catalog where they can conveniently search for other/similar videos if they wish.
Is there a way to search CSUF's Kanopy collection directly, without going through OneSearch?
Yes.  The direct link to it is: https://fullerton.kanopy.com  This raises the question "why not just provide this, instead of going through the library's OneSearch catalog?"  The answer is: OneSearch contains streaming videos from multiple streaming vendors, not just Kanopy.  So there is a broader selection of  titles by searching OneSearch than Kanopy alone.  The other vendors include Alexander Street, AVON, Films on Demand, Swank, etc.  And the library's in-house DVDs--which can be digitized--are included in OneSearch searches as well.  
Why are there sometimes messages that a request form must be submitted to watch a Kanopy video?
In the collection of videos Kanopy provides us, they give us two varieties: videos for which we have an active license and play immediately; and videos for which we need to purchase an active license to view (it's analogous to basic cable and pay-per-view cable).  If that happens to you, and it is a known title you know you need for your curriculum, just fill out the request form and we can inquire with Kanopy about purchasing it.  Due to cost, student requests to activate licenses to view are unlikely to be fulfilled unless they are required viewing for a class.

FAQ's on Swank films

 



Do we have a Swank "subscription package" of films?
Yes and no.  Some other universities (UCLA, USC, CSUN, etc.) may have a large subscription package of 500 or more films.  But our subscription is more a la carte, where we can pick a limited number of titles to add into our OneSearch catalog each semester.
Can specific films be requested to add to our Swank titles?
Yes and no.  If you have a particular film you need to show in your class, or have your students view, you can request it by emailing the Library's Acquisitions Librarian, Keri Prelitz, and Cc. me.  We will see if it is available from any of our streaming vendors, not just Swank (so it could come from Kanopy or AVON or Films on Demand or Swank or even digitized if we already have it on DVD in the library).   Please note that our Swank subscription only gives us a limited number of titles per semester, and for Fall 2021 the maximum is already nearly reached.  So if you submit a long list of dozens of titles, late into the semester, we may not be able to obtain them.
Where can you search for the Swank films we have?
Like our Kanopy and other streaming titles, all our Swank-subscription films are in our OneSearch catalog.  On the Swank website, they list their full inventory of over 25,000 films, but once again, we do not have access to all those; we have to request our limited choices a la carte.

COMM/HCOM/CTVA Librarian

Profile Photo
John Hickok
Contact:
657.278.4394
jhickok@fullerton.edu