ALA IRC Asia & Oceania Country/Region Library Resource List: Oceania (O-Z)

PAPUA NEW GUINEA LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Papua New Guinea
CDNLAO annual reports: Papua New Guinea library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of Papua New Guinea is located in the country’s capital, Port Moresby.  It was established with the county’s independence in 1975, and entered its current building in 1978, built as part of a National Library/Museum/Archives complex as a gift from Australia.  The National Library is under the authority of the Ministry of Education (MOE).  As of 2018 the library had 70,600 items, and a staff of 13 professionals (7 masters, 4 bachelors, 2 diplomas) and 25 assistants (source). The library does not currently have a website, but has Facebook pages with photos: https://www.facebook.com/www.nla.gov.pg/ and https://www.facebook.com/PNG-National-Library-Archives-2235658683136383/

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Papua New Guinea Library Association was founded in 1973.  The association has no current website or Facebook page.  The 2011 World Guide to Library, Archive, and Information Science Associations (2^nd ed.), p. 290 provides dated contact information.  The 2001 Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science (Vol. 70) provides a description and history.  The Pacific Islands Association of Libraries, Archives, and Museums (PIALA) website states that Papua New Guinea librarians have been represented in the association.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
In 1978, legislation decentralized control of public libraries from the National Library to the 22 provincial governments.  As a result, libraries were not adequately/uniformly funded or administered, and some even closed (source).  In 2017, the Ministry of Education announced its Ten Year Strategic Plan 2016 to 2025 to revive or reestablish all 22 provincial public libraries, plus some 89 smaller district libraries (source, source).  

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
At the tertiary level, Papua New Guinea has 7 universities, and 27 colleges (source, p. 27-30). Library websites among the 7 universities include: University of Papua New Guinea Library, University of Goroka Library, Papua New Guinea University of Technology Library, PNG University of Natural Resources and Environment Library, and Pacific Adventist University Library.  Library websites do not appear to be present at any of the 27 colleges.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Per 2017 MOE statistics, p. 9, there are approximately 4,000 primary schools and 300 secondary schools.  Education is decentralized with provincial governments administrating schools, and a large percent of schools being private/church owned (source, p. 8; source p. 25). Consequently, the quality of school libraries varies and is difficult to assess. In 2012 the government passed legislation for an Integrated Library Management System, to mandate a school library in every school, and the 2017 Ten Year Strategic Plan 2016 to 2025 will support to this (source).  However, as a still developing nation with decentralized education, school library adequacy and consistency remains a challenge.

Last updated August 2020

AMOA LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
CDNLAO annual reports: Samoa library reports for various years (e.g., 2016)

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The Nelson Memorial Public Library, or Samoa Public Library, is the de facto national library of Samoa.  It is in the capital, Apia, on the island of Upolu and is sometimes referred to as Apia Library. It is administered by the Ministry of Education, Sports and Culture. An informational website about the library, from 2015, is here: http://www.nationallibraryofsamoa.org.  See below, under PUBLIC LIBRARIES, for more details.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Library Association of Samoa was established in 1986 as the Library Association of Western Samoa, and changed to the Library Association of Samoa, or LAS, in 1997 when Western Samoa became the Independent State of Samoa. LAS has an elected 9-member executive committee, and sponsors many activities: annual conferences, annual Library Weeks, in-service training, literacy/reading promotion, book donation projects, and more.  An overview of the association, plus PowerPoint and poster, is here.  Its website is: https://www.las.org.ws.  Its contact information is: The Library Association of Samoa.  C/O The Librarian, NUS Library, PO Box 1622, Apia Samoa.  Phone: +685 20072 ext. 129/166   Fax: +685 22440  Email: info@las.org.ws

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
The Nelson Memorial Public Library, or Samoa Public Library, is the main public library of Samoa, established in 1956. There is currently no website or facebook page, but an informational website about the library is here: http://www.nationallibraryofsamoa.org  Photos of the library are at the LAS website. A major source housed at the library is a rich collection of Samoana.  The library’s contact information is: PO Box 598, Apia, Samoa. Phone: +68521028 The library has an American Corner (donated book collection from the US Embassy), which has a Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/AmericanCornerApia.  A branch of the Nelson Memorial Public Library has been opened at Salelologa on the island of Savaii. A 2013 report noted that resources were limited with no computers.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
There are 2 main tertiary institutions in Samoa: (1) The National University of Samoa. Its library has a website here:  https://nus.edu.ws/using-the-library/ The Library offers subject collections, online databases, wifi, and more. The library was established in 1989 and mainly held class sets of textbooks through the 1990s. Mergers of other academic institutions followed (School of Nursing Moto’otua, 1999; Samoa Polytechnic, 2006) adding more to library’s collections. (2) The University of the South Pacific, Samoa campus.  The Samoa campus has a library, established in 1977. Its website is: https://www.usp.ac.fj/index.php?id=5699. The library building was upgraded in 1994, to include a conference room and printer, with funding from Australia. The library houses approximately 17,500 titles consisting of books (Fiction and Non-Fiction), journals, videos/DVDs and a collection of agricultural articles in files.  Additional services include internet access via 5 student computers and access to a range of electronic databases covering all subject areas.  The library is open to all USP staff & students, and also members of the community who can become members.  Its contact info is: lafua Campus Library, Private Bag, Apia Samoa. E-mail: library@samoa.usp.ac.fj  Phone: +685 21671 ext 302.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
There are 136 government primary schools and 25 secondary/colleges (not including the Catholic and Mission schools) in Samoa.  Of these only 7 primary schools and 12 colleges have proper libraries, built by the recent ADB/AUSAid/ESP Project.  These school libraries have been equipped with excellent resources and two computers each for staff and students.  A SchoolNet project will also see internet services provided to schools and colleges around the country.  Libraries for schools and colleges is the current directive of the Ministry of Education, Sports and Culture.  This is supported by the joint MESC/USP Certificate in School Library Operations and Management to train Library Assistants ready to look after libraries in schools (source).

Last updated June 2021

SOLOMON ISLANDS LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Solomon Islands
CDNLAO annual reports: Solomon Islands library reports for various years
IFLA world report: 2007 overview of Solomon Islands libraries
Historical background: “State of Libraries in the Solomon Islands in the 1990s”, Tony Dadalo

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of the Solomon Islands was established in 1974 with the aim of reorganizing library services, extending reading services to the nation, creating a national union catalogue, and collecting material about the Solomon Islands.  Today it has responsibility for supporting school libraries across the country, and also contributes to the training of library staff enrolled in the University of the South Pacific. The library installed KOHA Library Management System in 2015 and is in the process of automating the Solomon Islands Collection. The library is located in the capital city, Honiara. Its website is:https://library33.wixsite.com/national-library-si  The library has two collections: the Solomon Islands Collection (SIC) and the General Reference Collection. It is accessible and free to all nationals, both to researchers and readers within the country and overseas.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
There is currently no library association for the Solomon Islands.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
The Honiara City Library is part of the Council’s Education Division and is located just down from the Council’s Main building, on the main street of Honiara. https://honiaracitycouncil.com/index.php/library/   The state of libraries in the Solomon Islands in the 1990s, by Tony Dadalo, is available here: https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED445696.pdf

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
There are two academic libraries in the Solomon Islands.

• The Solomon Islands National University (SINU) Library. The library is comprised of 3 campus libraries: Panatina Campus, Ranadi Campus, and Kukum Campus. The libraries provide teaching, learning and recreational materials for all members of the National University community. The SINU Library’s website is: http://library.sinu.edu.sb/  Established in 2013 (as sinu.lib.net), the website disseminates scholarly information via print and digital resources.  The print collection is classified using DDC standard and described by AACR2R.  It is run by the KOHA library system software, and includes DSpace software for its electronic repositories. 
• The University of the South Pacific (USP) Solomon Islands Campus Library.  The Library’s website https://www.usp.ac.fj/index.php?id=10441 It has a 1-room facility, a staff of 3 (1 librarian, 2 library assistants), book collections, an online catalogue and databases, and reference, instruction, and interlibrary loan services. Its contact information is: The Library, The University of the South Pacific, Solomon Islands Campus, P.O. Box 460, Honiara, Solomon Islands. Tel: +677 21307 / 21308. Fax: +677 24024. Email: dadalo_t@usp.ac.fj

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries are still in development in the Solomon Islands.  10 school libraries were reported to IFLA’s 2007 World Report.  The Solomon Islands Ministry of Education 2019 Annual Report noted 1,100 primary/secondary schools in the country, but no statistics on how many with libraries.  In 2015, the Vura High School Library—the first of 20 libraries constructed from grant funding from the Australian and New Zealand governments—was opened.  Likewise, the NGUVIA Community High School Library was opened in 2020 with funding from the government of South Korea.

Last updated June 2021

TONGA LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
No sites currently provide this information

NATIONAL LIBRARY
Tonga does not have a national library. A de facto national library is the Parliament Library.  Its mission is “to collect and provide needed information for Members of Parliament.”  However, it does allow public access of “tours and public members who are carrying out research regarding Parliament.” The library’s webpage is: https://www.parliament.gov.to/parliamentary-business/library  Its collection includes (a) books: only about 200, circulating to members of Parliament only; (b) Parliament publications (bills, resolutions, etc.); (c) periodicals (local and government magazines/newspapers).  The library is staffed by one librarian.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
Tonga currently has no active library association.  The association has been mentioned in past library literature (source, 2011), but no current activity exists.  Its last known contact information was: PO Box 278, Nuku’alofa, Tonga; Telephone:  676-29240 ; Fax: 676-23960.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Tonga has one newly-opened public library, opening October 11, 2019, as its “only” public library.  It is the Kolovai Community Public Library, located in the village of Kolovai, just outside of the capital Nukuʻalofa.  The development of the library was a volunteer effort from locals and New Zealanders.  The library is small, with mostly donated books, but has Wifi and is open Monday-Saturday 10am-3pm.  Its website is currently only a blog site, https://kolovaicpl.wordpress.com/, but it has a Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ahoosi/ (also https://www.facebook.com/kolovailibrary/).  Its contact information is: Ph: +67641413/+67641293. Mobile: +6767717343 Email: mounu17kamoto@gmail.com  News reports of the library—providing background info, description, and photos—are here: source1, source2, source3. Information on the library’s staffing or ongoing funding (government?) is not yet stated.  Also in 2019, several volunteer village libraries were established by New Zealand donations (source). No further information on their facilities or collections is available.  NOTE: Two other previous volunteer-initiated libraries were also reported as “Tonga’s first public library” or “Tonga’s only public library.” In 2014 the Princess Kaimana Northern Lights Library, in the Havelu section of Nukuʻalofa, was launched. It was profiled in various library and nonprofit media: source1, source2, source3.  Before that, in 2012, the Vava'u Public Library was established by the US Peace Corps, NZAid, and Rotary Club (source). Neither of these two libraries, however, have any current active status (no website, no Facebook). The academic library at Tupou Tertiary Institute doubles as a public library for the local community, offering fiction, audiobooks, and children’s reading programs on Saturday mornings. The library has an American Corner providing access to e-resources.  Its website is: http://www.tti.to/index.php/public-library

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
As of 2014, Tonga had 6 tertiary institutions (source).  The largest is the University of the Pacific, Tonga campus. Its library facilities and collection is small, but access to the university’s multi-campus library network (databases, e-books, interlibrary loan) is available.  It has a staff librarian providing Reference assistance (fifita.lolohea@usp.ac.fj)  Its website is: https://www.usp.ac.fj/index.php?id=4825  Next in size is the Tupou Tertiary Institute.  Its library is supported by an American Corner—materials and e-resources from the US Embassy. Information on the library is at: http://www.tti.to/index.php/campus-library  The other 4 institutions either don’t state, or only briefly mention, their library.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
2014 data from Tonga’s Ministry of Education reported 132 primary schools (110 public, 22 private) and 54 secondary schools (92% public, 8% private) (source).  However, no data is available on the presence or conditions of school libraries. A School Libraries Worldwide 1998 article stated that most Tongan secondary schools did have libraries, but they varied from mere textbook rooms to full, librarian-staffed libraries.  However, this information is over two decades old.

Last updated June 2021

TUVALU LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
CDNLAO annual reports (2017)
List of Libraries (Wikipedia)

NATIONAL LIBRARY
Tuvalu has a National Library and Archives.  It serves as both a government library archiving records, as well as a public library with books/materials for the public.  (Thus it is the de facto sole public library for Tuvalu).  It is administered by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports.  It was established in 1978, and is located in a former Red Cross building in the country’s capitol, Funafuti.  In 2006 it was awarded a £29,130 grant from the British Library for digitizing its archive holdings.  Its staff includes 5 LIS trained librarians.  Its website (featuring a photo) is: https://www.tuvaluarchives.tv/ and its Facebook page is here.  It has about 5,000 items and an online catalog (Koha), and has a circulating collection for citizens. The archives manage a collection of current and historical archives on the nation of Tuvalu. A 2017 CDNLAO report on the library is here.  Visitor comments are online.  A video overview of the library is online.  The National Library’s contact information is: Mr. Noa Petueli Tapumanaia, Chief Librarian/Archivist & Head of Department, Tuvalu National Library and Archives Department, Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports, Government of Tuvalu, Funafuti, Tuvalu Telephone: 00 688 20128, 00 688 20711

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
Tuvalu currently has no library association.  The Chief Librarian of the National Library serves as the primary contact for library matters of the country.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
There are no public libraries in Tuvalu.  The National Library serves as the de facto sole public library for Tuvalu.  Per online visitor comments, there is a children’s corner.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Currently there are no academic libraries in Tuvalu.  There are two higher education institutions: (1) The University of the South Pacific, Tuvalu campus. The campus does not provide a physical library, but relies on USP’s website e-library.  (2) The Maritime Training Institute. The Institute does not appear to have a website or library.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Tuvalu’s 2012 Education Statistics Report noted 10 primary schools and 2 secondary schools in the country. School libraries are still developing, and vary in conditions: from none, to a classroom book corner, to a small 1-room collection.  A 2017 UNICEF report noted inadequate facilities in schools due to budget limitations (p. 59).

Last updated June 2021

VANUATU LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
CDNLAO annual reports: Vanuatu library reports for various years
Overview of Vanuatu Libraries: 2019 ACRL video report, from Dr. Reysa Alenzuela
IFLA world report: 2007 overview of Vanuatu libraries

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of Vanuatu (NLV) was established in April 2004.  It contains about 15,000 books and serves both as a national repository for "rare and special" material, and as lending library.  The library holds special collections and some rare items to Vanuatu.  It also holds special collections to the Pacific.   The “rare and special” items include “anthropological and archaeological materials, art and arts references, autobiographical records and biographies, a large section of works on the languages of Vanuatu, mission histories, oral traditions, cultural, historical and political records, journals, newspapers and periodicals” (source). The NLV currently shares its location with the Vanuatu National Archives. There is no concrete funding, and no law has been passed on the development of the NLV.  The Chief Librarian of the NLV (2020) is Margaret Terry.  NLV website: http://www.vanla.org/  VCC website: http://www.vanuatuculture.org  Previous NLV pages: web archived.   There is also a parliamentary library of Vanuatu: https://parliament.gov.vu/index.php/library   More information on the NLV, with photos, is in the 2019 ACRL video above.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Vanuatu Library Association (VLA) was established in 1992 and members are spread across the major islands of Port Vila, Espiritu Santo, and Tanna.  The VLA’s Facebook page is here.  The Library Services Act was introduced by the VLA under the leadership of the President Margaret Terry, the Chief Librarian of the National Library of Vanuatu, and is in the process of legislation. Moreover, with the cooperation of Librarians in Port Vila, and Santo a Ni-Vanuatu Competency Index was also developed as reference for library competencies. The association’s efforts in library education and training are discussed by Alenzuela & Terry, 2020.  More information on the VLA, with photos, is in the 2019 ACRL video above.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Overseen by the National Library, there are four municipality public libraries serving the many islands of Vanuatu (and smaller community libraries under each).  Information on them, with photos, is in the 2019 ACRL video above.

• Port Vila Public Library (PVPL) was the first location of the National Library. The building was renovated, and Port Vila Public Library was (re)launched in 2018.  PVPL Facebook page.
• Santo Centre Library functions both as community and academic library. When the community (municipal) library was moved inside USP Centre, the collections were also transferred and never weeded out. The materials are General Reference collections, children’s books and fiction. Contact info.
• Tanna Public Library Contact info.
• Malekula Public Library

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
There are 5 academic libraries in Vanuatu.  Information on them, with photos, is in the 2019 ACRL video above.  The libraries, with their website links, are: (1) The National University of Vanuatu (NUV) Library. (2) The University of the South Pacific, Emalus Campus Library.  (3) Vanuatu Institute of Teacher Education (SIMELIU) Library. (4) Vanuatu Agriculture College Library. (5) Malapoa College Library

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
There are 1,105 primary/secondary schools in Vanuatu.  91% are in rural areas, only 9% in urban. Most do not have libraries, as funding priorities are on essentials (buildings, teachers, etc.).  There are 35 school libraries in Santo, Malau, Winsao, Pialulup, Bombua and Loreviko as part of the Library Project Vanuatu.  Each library has approximately 4,000 well-chosen books covering all types of non-fiction and fictions for teaching and reading purposes. The VLA is providing school library development and training.  Information on school libraries, with photos, is in the 2019 ACRL video above. 

Last updated June 2021