Skip to Main Content
Pollak Library

ALA IRC Asia & Oceania Country/Region Library Resource List: Oceania (A-N)

AUSTRALIA

AUSTRALIA LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Australia
CDNLAO annual reports: Australia library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of Australia is located in Canberra, the country’s capital. It was established by the National Library Act 1960 to collect and preserve resources related to Australia, plus collect significant outside materials (source).  Per its website, https://www.nla.gov.au/ , the library is open to the public, but is a reference library—non-circulating and closed stacks (paged items).  As of 2020, it had 3.7million books, over 200,000 serial titles, and millions of other-format items.  It features its online catalog and national bibliographic database. It has a wide variety of collections (including its digital collections, Trove) as well as exhibits, programs, workshops, tours, and reading rooms, and research guides.  The library was built in 1968 and has 8 floors of over 506,000ft2 (47,000m2) plus 3 annex buildings. It has nearly 350 staff. (source). Beyond all this, the National Library provides advising, training, and support to public libraries throughout the country, especially through it Libraries Australia service.  Near the National Library is the National Archives of Australia, https://www.nla.gov.au/, housing tens of millions of items on Australia’s history, immigration, culture, and more. Archived items are searchable via various databases.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA), https://www.alia.org.au/, Australia’s highly active library association, provides an array of resources and services. These include: • Professional & educational accreditation of education and practice standards; • Professional development; • Issue advocacy; • Career support & job postings; • Public campaigns; • Professional Awards; • Publications, such as the Journal of the Australian Library and Information Association and INCITE magazine.  ALIA was founded in 1937 and today has some 5,000 members, 11 Advisory Committees, and 40+ Interest Groups.  It is headquartered in the capital of Canberra, and its contact information is here: https://www.alia.org.au/about-alia/contact-us

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
According to the ALIA Australian Public Library Alliance National strategy and action plan 2019-2022, there are “1656 public library service points across Australia, 113 million customer visits each year and more than 9.3 million registered library members – more than a third of the total population” (source). The ALIA APLA advises ALIA on policy for its sector, and membership consists of representatives from state-based public library associations across Australia and Tasmania.  The Public Libraries Australia association (https://www.pla.org.au/) is a grassroots organization that represents the public library sector in Australia. Both state and city public libraries exist.  State Libraries: links to the websites of all 8 state libraries is here (bottom). City Public Libraries: A directory of all public libraries, nationwide, by the National Library, is here (set to “Public”). Websites of major city public libraries are: Sydney PL, Melbourne PL, Brisbane PL, Perth PL, Adelaide PL, ACT/Canberra PL, Hobart PL, Darwin PL.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
The Council of Australian University Libraries (CAUL) https://www.caul.edu.au/ is the major leadership organization for Australian university libraries. It consists of representatives from the 39 institutions that are members of Universities Australia. These university libraries are top-tier, featuring advanced facilities and services. A sampling of member libraries includes: Australian National University, University of Sydney, University of Melbourne, University of New South Wales, University of Queensland, Monash University. Besides universities, hundreds of other tertiary institutions exist (institutes, colleges, etc., both public and private) with varying degrees of facilities and services depending on budgets. Links to the library websites of these 200+ academic libraries is at the National Library’s searchable directory, here (set to “Research”).

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
There are over 9,000 primary & secondary schools in Australia (source). Most all have libraries. This is due to historic government funding for school libraries since the 1970s (largely due to ALIA advocacy; source). However, conditions vary, as local prioritization on libraries varies (source); some are top-tier, a are minimal and lacking. The Australian School Library Association (ASLA), https://asla.org.au/, is the national organization for school librarians in the country, providing support, advocacy, professional development, and evidence guides for teacher librarians. ALIA likewise actively supports school libraries (here).                                                           

Last updated June 2021

FIJI

FIJI LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
CDNLAO annual reports: Fiji library reports for various years
IFLA world report: 2007 overview of Fiji libraries

NATIONAL LIBRARY
Fiji currently has no national library in terms of a physical building.  However, it does have a Department of Library Services of Fiji (LSJ), under the Ministry of Education, which provides similar leadership that national libraries of other countries provide.  The LSJ oversees branch libraries, community libraries, and school libraries, as well as maintains a national bibliography and provide library training.  Website: http://www.education.gov.fj/library-2/  Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DepartmentOfLibraryService/ Contact information: P.O. Box 2526, Government Building, Suva, Fiji Islands.  T: +679 331 5303 F: +679 331 4994 Email: mvakarewa@govnet.gov.fj   Working in cooperation with the LSJ is the National Archives of Fiji.  It houses the country’s government records and is open to the public. Website: http://www.info.gov.fj/archives.html  Contact information: PO Box 2125, Government Building, Suva, Fiji, T: +6793304144 F: +6793307006, Email: archives@govnet.gov.fj

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
Fiji Library Association was formed in 1972 to encourage and foster the development of libraries, librarianship, archives and archivists, and other associated activities within Fiji and the South Pacific. It currently does not have an working website (dormant: http://www.fla.org.fj/) Information and past newsletters of the association are found at: https://issuu.com/fijilibraryassociation  

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
There are 5 public branch libraries of the LSJ: the Western (Lautoka), Tavua, Rakiraki, Savusavu, and Suva branches.  Information on these branches is available at the LSJ’s website: http://www.education.gov.fj/library-2/ There are also smaller community libraries with less resources/services. 

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
There are 40 fully registered Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in Fiji.  Academic libraries among these 40 vary widely in facilities, resources, and services.  The three main/top universities, with their library websites, are:

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Fiji’s Ministry of Education reported 907 primary & secondary schools for 2020.  Not all of these have school libraries.  One of the core missions of the LSJ is the establishment, development, and training of school libraries.  In 2015 the LSJ reported establishing 100 school libraries each year (CDNLAO, 2015).

OTHER RESOURCES

Last updated February 2021

GUAM

GUAM LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
Guam Public Library system (branch info, stats, surveys, etc.)
IFLA world report: 2007 overview of Guam libraries

TERRITORIAL LIBRARY
There is currently no government territorial library.  The main public library (below) serves as the largest library in Guam.  There is a special library, the Guam Law Library, a non-profit library established in 1978 and open to the public, which had development origins from government book collections (judicial, legislative).  Website: https://guamlawlibrary.org/

LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS

  • Guam Library Association (GLA): The Guam Library Association is the forefront in the development of libraries and literacy in Guam and the Pacific region.
  • Pacific Islands Association of Libraries, Archives, and Museums (PIALA): Guam is a member of this Pacific Islands international association.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Guam’s public libraries are administered by the Guam Public Library System, under the Guam Department of Chamorro Affairs.  The first public library opened in 1949.  Today, Guam has a main library, the N. M. Flores Memorial Public Library, in the capital, Hagåtñata.  This main library also has a children’s library.  There are also 5 branch libraries in other cities/locations on the island, in Agat, Barrigada, Dededo, Merizo, and Yona.  The libraries offer all typical public library services and facilities (computers, Internet, etc.).  Remote e-resources are also available.  Website: https://gpls.guam.gov/

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
The main 4-year university in Guam is the University of Guam, and its library is the RFK Library (website:   https://www.uog.edu/student-services/rfk-library/ ). Guam’s main 2-year college is Guam Community College (library website: https://guamcc.edu/library ).

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Guam has 6 high schools, 8 middle schools, and 27 elementary schools (links: https://sites.google.com/a/gdoe.net/gdoe/school).  School libraries follow guidelines by the Guam Department of Education and standards established by the American Association of School Libraries.  As such, they are staffed by librarians or teacher-librarians and have US-similar conditions.  An example of a high school library is here:  http://titanths.weebly.com/ . An example of an elementary school library is here: https://adacaolibrary.weebly.com/

Last updated January 2020

KIRIBATI

KIRABATI LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
CDNLAO annual reports: Kirabati Library reports for various years (e.g., 2015, 2013, 2011) 
IFLA Library Map: Kirabati

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of Kiribati is located on Tarawa Island.  The library collects, preserves, and protects documents on Kiribati.   The National Archives is next to the National Library.  As of 2015 (CDNLAO report, above) it had 10 library staff, and a collection of approximately 10,000 items.  The National Library is not yet automated (manual catalogue) and no computers for library users.  A photo of the library, with visitor comments, is online here.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Kiribati Library and Information Network (KLIN) is Kiribati’s Library Association.  Its last known contact information is: Kiribati Library and Information Network (KLIN), Moroni High School, Box 278, Bikenibeu, Tarawa, Kiribati, Central Pacific Area. Tel. +(686) 28075 ext. 16  Fax: +(686) 28037/28511

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
The Kiribati National Library also serves as the country’s sole public library, serving a wide spectrum of end users: children, students, and adults.  

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Kiribati has 5 tertiary institutions: Kiribati Teacher’s College, Kiribati Institute of Technology, Kiribati Marine Training Centre, and the Kiribati campus of the University of the South Pacific.  On each of their websites, except the Marine Centre, they state having libraries; however, no libraries websites or descriptions of them currently exist.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries are still developing in Kiribati. In 2015, a total of 77 primary and 33 secondary schools were reported (p. 36), though the presence or conditions of libraries were not.   A 2020 press release from the Australian High Commission in Kiribati stated: “New books for school libraries. Australia has supported the work of Kiribati’s Ministry of Education with the purchase of books for the students of Kiribati’s primary and junior secondary schools. These books are now being sorted into individual libraries of 250 (or more) books each, which will be distributed across every primary and Junior secondary school across Kiribati, including to outer islands schools. This project was undertaken through the Kiribati Education Improvement Program, a partnership between Kiribati and Australia which aims to provide greater opportunities by ensuring children receive a quality education.”

Last updated June 2021

MARSHALL ISLANDS

MARSHALL ISLANDS LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
List of libraries (Wikipedia)

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The Marshall Islands has no national library.  The country’s parliament, the Nitijela, has an e-library only—of parliament information (laws, resolutions, etc.)—at this site: https://rmiparliament.org/cms/library.html  The country’s sole public library (Alele Public Library, noted below), with an accompanying museum, serves as a de facto repository of country information.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Marshall Islands Library Association exists, although it currently has no website or Facebook page.  It is active in library advocacy, reflected by book donation efforts (noted in the media here, 2019) and training workshops (noted by a college here, 2019).  The association is a member of the regional library association, the Pacific Islands Association of Libraries, Archives, and Museums (PIALA).  Marshall Islands librarian Brenda Mellan is PIALA’s 2019-22 Secretary (here). In 2015 the Marshall Islands Library Association hosted PIALA’s annual conference (here).  Per the World Guide to Library, Archive, and Information Science Associations (2nd ed., 2011), the association was founded in 1991, has about 30 members, and its contact info is: c/o John K. Pagolu (Advisor), Director of Library Services, College of the Marshall Islands, P.O. Box 1258, Jajuro 96960, Marshall Islands.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
The Marshall Islands has one public library: the Alele Public Library in the capital of Majuro. It is a small library (48x38 feet) with one Librarian and one tech assistant over a 6-station computer lab with Internet access.  The library was renovated in 2013.  It serves 30-40 children and 10-20 adults daily, with operating hours 8am-5pm M-F.  It has over 8,000 books in its collection, including a Pacifica collection with emphasis on the Marshall Islands. (Source)  Photos of the library are here. Website: https://www.alele.org/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alelemuseum  A detailed 3-year plan (2020-2022) of the library, providing an overview of the library’s facilities, resources, & services, plus plans for the coming years, is here.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
There are only two higher education institutions in the Marshall Islands: (1) The College of the Marshall Islands. It has a main campus (Uliga, Majuro Atoll) and a branch campus plus 2 distance education centers in Arrak, Jaluit, and Ebeye.. The main campus has a library with trained librarians, Reference/Instruction/Circulations services, an online catalog and databases, etc. It has a Micronesian collection, especially focusing on the Marshall Islands, as an in-house collection.  References in the collection are in the library’s catalog, plus other materials indexed in the Micronesian Collection Reference Files (MCRF) database.  The library’s website is here. The branch campus and distance education centers have smaller libraries: Arrak, Jaluit, and Ebeye. Combined, the libraries provide a total holding volume of over 15,000 books, journals and audio-visual materials.  (2) The University of the South Pacific’s Marshall Islands campus (Majuro Atoll).  It has a library with 5,000 books & media, four laptop computers, and 17 study spaces (group and private).  Its website is here.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries are still developing in the Marshall Islands.  Schools are administered by the Ministry of Education, and accreditation standards state schools should have a library (source).  Per the ministry’s 2020 Education Digest, there were 112 K-12 schools (86 public, 26 private) (source). However, no data on the actual number of libraries, or their conditions, is available.  A photo example of a single room library, at the Marshall Islands High School Facebook page, is here.  In February 2023, the US government's US Aid foundation donated $1 million for books in school libraries (and public libraries) administered by the College of the Marshall Islands (here).

Last updated November 2023

MICRONESIA

MICRONESIA LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Micronesia

NATIONAL LIBRARY
Micronesia’s national library is The Congress of Micronesia Library.  Its establishment and purpose are described here.  Although it was created as a governmental library, it is also “available for the use of all persons in Micronesia.”  The library currently has no website.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The FSM Association of Libraries, Archives, and Museums (FSM-ALAM) is the national organization representing the interests of libraries, archives, museums and information professionals in the Federated States of Micronesia. It was founded in 2001 and its contact information is: PO Box PS 151 / Pohnpei, Federated State of Micronesia, 96941. (691) 320-2763. fsmalam2001@gmail.com. Additionally, each of the Micronesia’s 4 states has a state library association: (1)Yap State Library Association, (2)Chuuk Association of Libraries, (3)Kosrae Library Association, (4)Libraries, Archives, & Museums of Pohnpei (LAMP) Association. The association and state library associations are members/partners in the  Pacific Islands Association of Libraries, Archives, and Museums (PIALA) (website).

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
The Pohnpei Public Library, in Palikir, the capital of Micronesia (Pohnpei State), is the country’s main public library.  It was founded by volunteers in 1985, and today operates jointly with the Friends of Ponpei Public Library organization (operation) and the Ponpei State government (funding). It has public computers, Internet access, and a staff of 2 librarians and 2 library assistants.  The Friends of the Pohnpei Public Library Organization was established in early May 1986, and the organization began fund raising support activities to gain support for their goal to set up a public library in Pohnpei.  The success and expansion of the Library is contributed by generous support of both local and international contributors. The library also has a book-mobile, donated by the Bank of the FSM, providing library services to public schools in remote communities around Pohnpei.
The Rose Mackwelung Library is a second public library, located in Tofol (Kosrae State). It serves both the public as well as local secondary students and College of Micronesia students.  It has 15,000 materials: general collection, reference, childrens, fiction, and Pacific collection.  One librarian staffs the library. Its contact information is: 691-370-3824, sigraha@comfsm.fm.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
The only institution of higher education in Micronesia is The College of Micronesia-FSM.  Its Learning Resource Centre is composed of an academic and research library, computer information technology services, curriculum resource centre, Micronesia Micronesia/Pacific collection, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands and COM-FSM archives, United States, United Nations, and Food and Agriculture Organization Government Documents Depository, and Media Instructional Technology Center (MITC). It has a web OPAC, online databases, multiple collections, and a library staff.  It also offers customary academic library services: reference, instruction, ILL, etc.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
As of 2018, Micronesia had 161 K-12 schools spread across its 4 states (source). Data on the presence and conditions of school libraries is not available.  Websites of the library associations and public libraries, above, provide some news/discussion/photos of school libraries, such as this school library in 2019.

Last updated June 2021

NAURU

NAURU LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
List of libraries (Wikipedia)

NATIONAL LIBRARY
Nauru has no national library.  The government—Executive (President and Ministries) and Parliament—have offices with stored documents, but no public archive or library. Government documents in recent years are publicly available online: http://www.naurugov.nr

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
Nauru has no library association.  It is eligible to be a participating member of the Pacific Islands Association of Libraries, Archives, and Museums (PIALA), https://piala-pacific.wixsite.com/piala-pacific, but currently has no representation.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Prior to 1999, Nauru had a single public library but it was destroyed by fire and never rebuilt.  For over 20 years there was no public library.  In May 2018, the “Nauru Community Library” ­was opened in a new “Learning Village complex” of the University of the South Pacific Nauru Campus. (source/photos, source/photos).  An “American Shelf” donation of books was added by the US government in September 2019 (source/photos).  This public library serves the entire Nauru island population of 12,500 (2019, World Bank).

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Nauru has one university: the Nauru campus of the University of the South Pacific (headquartered in Fiji).  The campus has been present since 1987, including a library.  The  new “Nauru Community Library” (above) doubles as the campus’ academic library (https://www.usp.ac.fj/index.php?id=usp_nauru_home).  Nauru citizens seeking other higher education typically study abroad or online/distance education with e-libraries.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Nauru only has five schools: three primary schools and two secondary schools—Nauru Secondary School and “Nauru College” Secondary School (source).  The Nauru Secondary School is located in the “Learning Village complex” of the University of the South Pacific Nauru Campus, and therefore uses the Nauru Community Library as its library.  Information on the presence or condition of libraries for the other schools is not available.

Last updated August 2020

NEW ZEALAND

NEW ZEALAND LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: New Zealand
DNLAO annual reports: New Zealand library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of New Zealand (https://natlib.govt.nz/) is based in the nation’s capital, Wellington. It was established in 1965 and its current building was built in 1987. It has two branch library locations, in Auckland and Christchurch.  It has many collections and many formats (books, serials, media, digital works, etc.) Its materials are primarily non-circulating, but can be borrowed by request through local public libraries. The library maintains databases, a digital archive (“DigitalNZ”), and an online catalog. Within the library, it offers Reference services, reading rooms, and auditorium events. But the National Library’s efforts extend beyond the library.  It assists other libraries (ILL, cataloging, etc.; here), and especially outreaches to, and supports, school libraries (literacy promotion, book lending, etc.; here). The Library’s contact information is here.  Nearby is Archives New Zealand (Māori: Te Rua Mahara o te), http://archives.govt.nz/, the official public archives of government and historic items (documents, maps, painting, photographs, films, etc.). The items are publicly searchable here.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa (LIANZA) http://www.lianza.org.nz/ is the primary library association in the country. The organization was incorporated by an Act of Parliament in 1939, and supports the profession through career support, job postings, advocacy, professional development, and conferences.  The association provides publications and online portals (here) and features communities (by region, by interests) for tailored support. Its contact information is here.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
The Association of Public Library Managers Inc. (APLM) was established in 2007 to represent the interests of New Zealand’s public libraries, and works in cooperation with LIANZA. Its website, https://publiclibraries.org.nz/, promotes developments and services of public libraries.  Its online library directory of all public libraries, with a searchable map feature, is here. As of 2020, there are over 300 public libraries. (A 2014 LIANZA report, Libraries In Aotearoa New Zealand, noted the growth of public libraries as hubs for the community and as spaces for knowledge creation, and reported a public library membership increase from 50% of the population in 2005 to 55% in 2013). A website sampling of some of New Zealand’s largest public libraries is: Auckland PL, Christchurch PL, Wellington PL, Hamilton PL, Tauranga PL, Lower Hutt PL, Dunedin PL.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Academic libraries in New Zealand are in 4 tertiary categories: universities, colleges of education, institutes of technology and polytechnics, wānanga (public Māori cultural institution), and training facilities. (1)Universities: there are 8 universities, and all have modern, well-developed libraries. They are: AUT, LU, MU, UofA, UofC, UofO, UofW, VUW. The Council of New Zealand University Librarians (CONZUL) is a leadership network of the 8 libraries, part of the Universities New Zealand (UNZ) network, providing advisory guidance. (2)Institutes of Technology/Polytechnics: there are over a dozen of these institutions, and all have good libraries too, though less comprehensive than university libraries. Examples are: Manukau Institute, Aura Institute. (3)Wānanga (public Māori cultural institutions): these also have libraries, but are typically smaller with more targeted resources. An example is: Te Wānanga o Aotearoa. (4)Training facilities: these facilities—smaller institutes or vocational centers—may have basic libraries or only textbook/study rooms. An example is: Careerforce.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
New Zealand has some 2535 primary & secondary schools.  Ministry of Education guidelines specify schools to have libraries and librarians or teacher-librarians, and many do.  However, the quality (conditions/collections) and staffing time-allotment widely varies, depending on schools’ individual valuation (prioritization) of the libraries (source).  Two nationwide school library surveys were jointly conducted by the National Library, LIANZA and the School Library Association of New Zealand Aotearoa (SLANZA) in 2018 and 2019. They found serious shortcomings, such as inadequate assigned staffing. LIANZA, the National Library (here), and SLANZA (here) all provide support to school libraries. 

Last updated June 2021