Skip to Main Content
Pollak Library

ALA IRC Asia & Oceania Country/Region Library Resource List: Southeast Asia (O-Z)

PHILIPPINES

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: (Philippines not included)
CDNLAO annual reports: Philippines library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of the Philippines is located in Manila and serves as both a government/archive library and an open reading library.  Beyond its on-site service, the NLP assists the development of public libraries, in coordination with local governments.  It conducts training seminars, offers book allocations, conducts inspections and provides mobile book services. Website: http://web.nlp.gov.ph  The NLP is also one of the partners behind Philippine eLib, a national e-resource portal that subscribing libraries can access and provide to their patrons: http://www.elib.gov.ph.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS

  • PLAI: Philippine Library Association, Inc.  The Philippine Librarians Association, Inc. (formerly known as the Philippine Library Association) is the only nationally accredited professional organization of librarians in the Philippines to date. At present, it serves as the umbrella organization for all library groups in the country. It holds conferences, sponsors training events, coordinates profession news, and more. 

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
All cities and provinces in the Philippines are mandated to have public libraries, per Philippine law.  However, the conditions of such libraries can vary dramatically, as library support depends on local government funding.  For example, an advanced municipal public library is ironically absent in Manila, yet in neighboring Quezon City, a modern, new city library exists (http://www.quezoncitypubliclibrary.org/).  An online list of public libraries in the Philippines is here: http://web.nlp.gov.ph/nlp/?q=listofpls  Public libraries also exist at the barangay (neighborhood) level, but these are often not full-service libraries, but rather reading rooms or informal book collections.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Higher education is a thriving industry in the Philippines, with thousands of colleges and universities.  A lengthy, though not necessarily comprehensive, list of Philippine academic libraries (and their websites) is provided by PAARL, here: https://web.archive.org/web/20171120004944/http://paarl.wikispaces.com:80/Libraries.  Examples of libraries at some of the Philippines’ top universities include:

Smaller colleges and institutes typically have libraries as well, but the resources are frequently fare less (sometimes not automation, small materials budget, limited staff, etc.)  Philippine academic libraries often belong to consortiums for resource sharing or group buying power.  These can be geographic (e.g., the Mendiola Consortium—universities in a section of Manila) or by shared interest (e.g. Jesuit Higher Education Library Consortium).

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Due to the presence of LIS degree programs in the Philippines, trained school librarians are more common than in some other SEA countries.  However, shortages still exist, and library funding/conditions pose ongoing challenges, as—like public libraries—budgets are set by the local school administrations. NGOs are present in the Philippines too, to assist school libraries; some notable ones are: Sambat Trust, AHON Foundation, Books for Barrios, and Books for Asia Project.

LIBRARIAN PROFESSIONALIZATION
A unique characteristic of the Philippines is the professionalization of librarians.  To be recognized for hiring and benefits, librarians must be licensed (as must doctors, realtors, etc.), and therefore pass a licensure (librarian civil service) exam.  Details on this are here: https://archive.ifla.org/IV/ifla69/papers/134e-Santos.pdf

Last updated January 2020

SINGAPORE

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Singapore
CDNLAO annual reports: Singapore library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of Singapore (https://www.nlb.gov.sg/) stands as one of the premier national libraries in Asia, with an ultra-modern, environmentally-friendly (award-winning), 16-story building built in 2005.  It features several floors of various collections (including language specific collections—Chinese, Malay, and Tamil).  In addition to traditional library services (reference, cataloging, Internet access, etc.), the library is pioneering in newer services such as e-device loaning and a multi-functional library app.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Librarian Association of Singapore has been providing professional guidance and assistance to libraries and librarians since its forming in 1972.  Its website is: https://www.las.org.sg/ and features information on professional development, conferences, grants, and more.  As a small, volunteer organization, its activities may not have the same scale as larger nations (China, Korea, Australia, US, etc.), but its quality is top-level.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Singapore’s network of public libraries is overseen by the National Library Board: one central library, three regional libraries, 22 community libraries, 3 mobile library buses, and of course the National Library (discussed below).  These public libraries are open 7 days a week, and have 383 library staff—which includes 126 managers and librarians (professional), 186 library officers (diploma), 46 team leaders, and 37 PLSG corporate groups.  The main website to Singapore’s Public Library system, and all branches, is here: https://www.nlb.gov.sg/About/AboutPublicLibraries.aspx

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Singapore’s academic libraries are world-class, featuring the same quality, if not better, than the facilities, collections, technology, etc. of many western academic libraries.  Examples of Singapore university libraries are:

Singapore’s next tiers of higher education institutions—polytechnics, institutes of technical education, and junior colleges, also have libraries and modern facilities and technology.  Though not having (or needing) extensive historical print collections, these HEIs provide more virtual library collections and facilities.  Example:

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries in Singapore are under the supervision of the Ministry of Education. While all schools have a library, their funding falls under the discretion of their respective school directors; thus the quality may vary (some well-developed and used, others not).  In 2005, the Ministry of Education awarded a UK-based corporation, Civica, a 5-year contract to outsource the management of school libraries for those schools interested (over 250 schools signed on). The nearly-15 year scorecard has provided mixed results.  Civica had indeed provided dutiful management, and many Civica library employees have demonstrated skill.  Still, it has not been without controversy, as Civica has not required professionally degreed or trained librarians, and in some cases, the difference showed. An overview of Singapore’s school libraries and their development is here: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/10572317.2011.10762907

Last updated April 2019

THAILAND

THAILAND LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Thailand
DNLAO annual reports: Thailand library reports for various years
EIFL report on Thailand: information on select Thailand libraries

NATIONAL LIBRARY
Thailand’s National Library is certainly a “public” library in that it is open to the public; however, it functions more as a governmental/archival and research library than an informal municipal public library. In addition to its large facility in Bangkok, it also has 11 branches throughout the country (each described on its website: http://www.nlt.go.th). The National Library has fully modern features and services, from web e-resources to public Wi-Fi on its premises. It works with the Thai Library Association to promote libraries nationwide

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Thai Library Association facilitates professional development among librarians in Thailand.  Its website is here, http://tla.or.th, but is only available in Thai (Browser translation can yield a semi-accurate look). An overview of the association and its role is here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170103104413/http://tla.or.th/about.php?lang=en

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Thailand has 73 provincial libraries, hundreds of municipal (city/town libraries), and hundreds of small (district/neighborhood level) libraries.  Provincial and large municipal libraries have larger budgets and therefore larger collections/facilities/services.  For example, the Bangkok City Library (newly built 2017) has modern computer and Wi-Fi facilities: http://www.bangkokcitylibrary.com . Likewise, throughout Thailand are TKPark Centers, which are libraries with a high-tech focus (gaming, multimedia, staging areas, etc.): http://www.tkpark.or.th  Thailand has thousands of rural libraries, but these are frequently village reading rooms rather than full service libraries. City and provincial governments also provide mobile libraries to remote areas, and in many modes: boats, motorcycles, vans, trains, buses, and even elephants.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Academic libraries are found in all varieties of Thailand’s higher education: public universities, private universities, colleges, institutes, etc. In 2010, there were 225 university libraries. While academic libraries generally feature more facilities/technology/services than public or school libraries, they vary according to size and budget.  Some of Thailand’s top universities feature modern and high-tech features equal to western academic libraries.  Some Top Thai university libraries include:

Academic Library E-resource networks exist for Thai public universities.  These shared resource networks bring repositories, article databases, union catalogs, and more.  The largest is ThaiLIS: Thai Library Integrated System (http://www.thailis.or.th/ or http://tdc.thailis.or.th/tdc/ ).  Thai private universities likewise have an e-resource network called ThaiPul-Net.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries vary in size, ranging from small book corners in classrooms to large rooms or standalone buildings.  Budgets are dependent on size; smaller libraries often have very limited budgets while larger ones may receive more funding (and therefore even have advanced features, like automated catalogs, databases, trained librarians, etc.)  School libraries may provide reading materials to children and adults in local communities in the form of newspapers, serials, magazines, books, newsletters, pamphlets, and non-printed materials.

Last updated April 2019

VIETNAM

VIETNAM LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Vietnam
DNLAO annual reports: Vietnam library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of Vietnam (NLV) serves as the country’s central library and largest book depository of archival, governmental, academic, and public works.  Originally built in 1917 as the Central Public Library of Indochina, it was renamed the National Library in 1958, after independence.  The NLV also compiles a monthly/annual national bibliography and provides both free services (online catalog, reference, etc.) and fee services (photocopying, professional training, etc.)  In recent years, the NLV has cooperated with other organizations to promote reading through book donations, festivals, and public talks. Website: http://nlv.gov.vn/ef/

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Vietnamese Library Association was formed in 2006 and cooperates with the National Library in providing professional development training to librarians in Vietnam.  The association has both a northern and southern chapter.  Its website is here: http://www.vla.org.vn/ (in Vietnamese only; may be web-translated for a semi-accurate view).

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Public libraries exist in Vietnam in 3 categories: (1)City/Province libraries. These total 63, for Vietnam’s 63 provinces. The most prominent are in Vietnam’s 5 major cities (Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Can Tho, Da Nang and Hai Phong). Hanoi’s website is http://thuvienhanoi.org.vn/; Ho Chi Minh City’s website is: http://www.thuvientphcm.gov.vn. (2) District libraries. These libraries, totaling 626 nationwide, are in the many districts of provinces. The conditions of these libraries are lower: smaller and more limited. (3) Commune libraries. These are small neighborhood libraries, at the commune/precinct level, totaling around 2,000. Their conditions are usually very limited (few books), and therefore not heavily used (or at all).

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Among Vietnam’s nationwide colleges and universities, there are some 353 academic libraries (as of 2012). Like public libraries, there is a gap in quality between libraries of large universities in the top urban areas and those in smaller (and more remote) colleges and universities.  Examples of some prominent university libraries around Vietnam are:

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
In 2012 there were 24,686 K-12 school libraries in Vietnam; however, of those, only 13,000 (52%) met the minimum standard to be considered a school library.  School libraries are typically a room in the school building with a few hundred books.  In best case scenarios, they have leisure reading books (not just textbooks), with shelves that are open (not locked cupboards), plus reading spaces (tables/chairs/floor mats), and open at sufficient times for students to use.  But these best case scenarios do not always exist.

NGOs SUPPORTING LIBRARIES
Various NGOs are present in Vietnam assisting school libraries:

Last updated April 2019