Skip to Main Content
Pollak Library

ALA IRC Asia & Oceania Country/Region Library Resource List: East Asia

CHINA

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: China
DNLAO annual reports: China library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of China (opened in 2008) is a massive library—the largest in China and all of Asia —accommodating some 8,000 users daily.  The National Library does not supervise public libraries throughout China, but is a model for trends and innovations. It maintains China’s national bibliographic databases, and has been the leader for cataloging practices and digitization of historic texts. http://www.nlc.cn/newen.  The library also features the National Digital Library of China, the gateway to the library’s e-resources:  http://www.ndlib.cn/

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Library Society of China (LSC), established in 1979, consists of staff members from libraries and relevant organizations. It is a national non-governmental organization. The predecessor of the Library Society of China was the Chinese Library Association, established in 1925. The society’s goal is managing and promoting libraries and information science & technology.  Its contact information of the society, and other related library associations/libraries in China, is below:

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
In the past decade, an incredible wave of public library modernization has been sweeping over China; in many cities, massive new public library buildings have been built.  In 2017, 2,994 public libraries were reported (IFLA). Examples of major municipal libraries are: Beijing: Capital Library of China (http://www.clcn.net.cn); Shanghai: Shanghai Public Library (a combination  of a public library and academic  library: the Institute of Scientific and Technical Information of Shanghai; http://www.library.sh.cn/web/index.html); Guangzhou: Guangzhou Public Library (http://www.gzlib.org.cn).  Each of China’s 30+ provinces has a central provincial library, and many have braches as well.  Examples include: North: Hebei Provincial Library (http://www.helib.net/); East: Anhui Provincial Library (http://www.ahlib.com/index.html); South Central: Hunan Provincial Library (http://www.library.hn.cn/english/). Cities and counties (under jurisdiction of cities) also have libraries, though collections/facilities will vary according to funding. 

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Modern academic libraries have existed in China for over a century. In 2016, 2,914 academic libraries were reported (IFLA). Examples of top universities in China include: Tsinghua University Library (http://lib.tsinghua.edu.cn/dra/); Peking University Library (https://www.lib.pku.edu.cn/portal/en); Fudan University Library (http://www.library.fudan.edu.cn); Sun Yat Sen University Library (http://library.sysu.edu.cn/). Many academic libraries in China subscribe to the China Academic Library & Information System (CALIS) from the Ministry of Education, which provides hundreds of databases and thousands of e-journals and e-books: http://www.calis.edu.cn/

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries have seen a steady development in recent decades.  In a 2004 study, nearly 235,000 school libraries were reported.  While many schools report having a library of some type, the conditions can very dramatically.  In 2015, the Ministry of Education announced a goal of state-standards for “most” primary schools by the end of 2020 (http://old.moe.gov.cn//publicfiles/business/htmlfiles/moe/moe_1793/201505/188172.html).

Last updated January 2020

HONG KONG and MACAU

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Hong Kong
IFLA Library Map: Macao

REGION LIBRARY
There is no overall “region” library, nor branch of the National Library of China, in either Hong Kong or Macao.  The closest equivalent would be the central libraries in each (discussed below).

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Hong Kong Library Association (https://hkla.org) was founded in 1958 and has continued to be an active professional association through both the British and Chinese periods.  It holds conferences, conducts professional development training, provides publications, and more.  The Macau Library & Information Management Association (http://www.mlima.org.mo/) was founded in 1995 and, like HK, provides professional development and networking for Macau librarians.  As of 2017 it had 570 members.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
The Hong Kong Public Library system (HKPL, https: www.hkpl.gov.hk) is comprised of a large, 12-story Central Library (built 2001) and a network of  67 branches across the region.  The Central library (https://www.hkpl.gov.hk/en/locations/central-library/central.html) features all modern municipal library qualities: services (circulation, reference, outreach, etc.), collections (children, media, youth, etc.), technology (Wi-Fi, self-printing, self-charging, apps, etc.), and even new innovations (toy library, language-learning center, baby care room, etc.).  Macao’s public libraries are comprised of the Macao Central Library and 6 branches (https://www.library.gov.mo). The Central Library is housed in the original 1895 colonial library building, but is fully modern inside, renovated in 2007. Some of Macao’s 6 branch libraries are housed in historic locations, such as the Ho Tung Library and the Lean Senado Library. While the  Central and branch libraries are administered under the Macao Department of Public Library Management, 9 other libraries, under other government departments, are also open to the public.

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Hong Kong has over 20 Higher Education Institutions.  The most prominent are its 8 University Grant Committee –funded universities.  These all have high-quality academic libraries, with some of them world renowned. They include: University of Hong Kong (http://lib.hku.hk/mainlib), Chinese University of Hong Kong (http://www.lib.cuhk.edu.hk), Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (http://library.ust.hk), City University of Hong Kong (http://www.cityu.edu.hk/lib), Hong Kong Polytechnic University (http://www.lib.polyu.edu.hk), Hong Kong Baptist University (http://library.hkbu.edu.hk/main/index.php), Lingnan University (http://www.library.ln.edu.hk), and The Education University of Hong Kong (http://www.lib.eduhk.hk).  Macao has 10 Higher Education Institutions, with libraries that likewise meet or exceed ACRL standards. Among them are: University of Macau (http://library.umac.mo), Macau University of Science and Technology (http://lib.must.edu.mo/en), Macao Polytechnic Institute (IPM)—(http://library.ipm.edu.mo/English).

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Hong Kong: nearly all primary and secondary schools have libraries. Their conditions may vary, especially considering the varieties of school options available (public, subsidized, private), but comparatively, internationally, Hong Kong school libraries are present and maintained. Additionally, the government requires all schools to have a qualified full-time teacher-librarian.  Macao: Macao lacks a centralized school system and as such, schools are modeled after Portuguese, Chinese, or Hong Kong schools—often being private schools. Consequently, the prevalence and conditions of libraries are difficult to assess.

Last updated August 2020

JAPAN

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Japan
DNLAO annual reports: Japan library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Diet Library (NDL), established in 1948, is Japan’s national library.  Although its primary purpose is to provide legislative reference for Diet members, it also provides training and support for libraries nation-wide, and is open to the public.  It also has a national bibliography and indexes.  The NDL has three main locations: the Tokyo Main Library, the Kansai-kan (in Kyoto, opened 2002), and the International Library of Children’s Literature (in Tokyo, opened in 2000).  Website: http://www.ndl.go.jp/en/

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Japan Library Association (JLA) was first formed in 1892, and has continuously promoted library development in Japan since.  Its mission is being a national information center for libraries/librarians, being a professional development center, cooperating with all other types of library/library-related organizations, and promoting international relations activities. Website: https://www.jla.or.jp/  

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Public libraries in Japan have steadily grown in the past 70 years (after WWII). In 2015, 3,331 public libraries in the country were reported (IFLA). A list of many public libraries, with links to their websites, is maintained at the JLA website: http://www.jla.or.jp/portals/0/html/pub-dir-e.html.  Public Libraries exist at both the prefecture level (example: Miyagi Prefectural Library, http://www.library.pref.miyagi.jp/, and the city level (example: Imari City Public Library, http://www.imarilib.hachigamenet.ne.jp/index.html).  Although not full-service libraries, there also exist Kominkan (community learning centers or citizens’ public halls) in smaller towns, which have library rooms, and Bunko, or community children’s libraries, which are grass-roots centers run by volunteers. 

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Japan’s academic libraries are very well developed, with its top libraries featuring immense collections and facilities.  Some of these top libraries include:

Beyond these, regional university libraries (preferctures, cities) also have good collections with modern technology, both public and private.  For example, Hiroshima City University (public) https://www.hiroshima-cu.ac.jp/english/category0027/, and Keio University library (private) http://www.keio.ac.jp/en/academics/mc.html. The JLA maintains a list of academic libraries here: http://www.jla.or.jp/portals/0/html/univ-dir-e.html.  A 2017 reporting to IFLA stated 1,498 academic libraries in Japan.

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries in Japan fall under the direction of the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, and Technology (MEXT) which formulates and implements policies concerning school libraries.  The Japan School Library Association also assists, by providing standards for school libraries and making recommendations for space utilization, reading promotion, etc. Japan’s School Library Law states that all schools should have a library and librarian. Because of this, school libraries in Japan are comparatively well developed and maintained (for example, a 2008 MEXT assessment found 78% of high schools had their libraries automated). 2016 numbers reported to IFLA stated 37,979 school libraries in Japan.

Last updated April 2019

SOUTH KOREA

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: South Korea
CDNLAO annual reports: South Korea library reports for various years

NATIONAL LIBRARY
The National Library of Korea (NLK) is managed directly by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism (MCST).  As of 2017, their collection totaled over 11 million items.  Aside from offering public library service, the NLK also offers professional in-service training for librarians and library staff—over 1,800 librarians/staff annually.  Additionally, it plays a leading role in facilitating support to public libraries nationwide. The NLK created the National Library for Children and Young Adults (NLCY) in 2006 to promote reading in both public libraries and school libraries. Website: http://www.nl.go.kr/english/

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Korean Library Association (KLA) was founded in 1945 in order to facilitate library development in Korea.  The organization continues to do so through the promotion of interlibrary cooperation and exchange, library education, library programs and reading campaigns, and distribution of library rules and standards like the Korean Decimal Classification (KDC) system. The KLA has a detailed website, www.kla.kr, though it is entirely in Korean.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
South Korea’s public libraries have grown in recent decades, paralleling the country’s economic growth. Public libraries fall under the direction of the Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism and also the Ministry of Education. Their operation at the local level is overseen by provincial and lower-level governments and the local offices of education. In 2017, 1,042 public libraries were reported (IFLA). Examples include:

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
The conditions of academic libraries at universities in South Korea are typically very high in quality. Top university libraries have been able to not only match international academic library standards, but in many aspects, surpass them—like cutting-edge uses of technology in libraries.  Examples of prominent academic libraries are:

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries in South Korea are quite well developed and maintained. Standards set in 1973 made school library facilities compulsory, with subsequent legislation reinforcing the standard that all schools should have a library. South Korean school libraries have shown a trend of continual growth in library collections—from 2006 to 2009, nationwide school library collections have grown from 72 million to 115 million, reflecting an increased ratio of 9.5 to 15.4 books-per-student. 11,644 school libraries were reported in 2017 (IFLA). Challenges still exist, of course, such as efforts to improve reading engagement among students rather than just exam preparation. 

Last updated April 2019

MONGOLIA

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
IFLA Library Map: Mongolia
CDNLAO annual reports: Mongolia library reports for various years
EIFL report on Mongolia: information on select Mongolia libraries

NATIONAL LIBRARY
While the national libraries of some countries tend to be more government archives in nature, the National Library of Mongolia is indeed a public library. It was founded in 1921, and in 1951 moved to a large 3-story building—its current home.  Its website is: http://www.nationallibrary.mn (Mongolian only). Features of the library are:

  • Collections: as of 2011, the library had nearly 3 million items, including books, periodicals, and archival materials.  Several collection divisions exist, including a UN book corner established in 2010, and the Children’s Book Palace, with over 100,000 children’s books.
  • Technology: the library does have an online catalog (KOHA catalog as of 2016),  but it only reflects a limited portion of the collection; as of 2011, the library was still in the process converting its paper catalog to electronic, with only 300,000 books entered.  The library has a small selection of commercial databases,  Wi-Fi internet access,  and two repository databases: Mongolian Manuscripts and Tibetan Sutras.
  • Staffing and Services: the library provides customary reference and circulation services, and as of 2011, had 83 employees.  In 2011 the library launched a mobile library project, funded by the World Bank, sending library materials to outlying populations (military bases, prisons, rural areas).

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
The Mongolian Library Association (MLA) exists in Mongolia, but does not yet have significant role in library development or conditions (from a 2010 report). The MLA has no website available yet.  LIS training in Mongolia is assigned to the Cultural College of Mongolia and the National Library. 

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
Following the fall of the Soviet Union, the number of libraries in Mongolia was reduced by more than half—from 418 libraries in 1989 to 181 libraries in 2000—due to loss of Soviet subsidization.  In 2011, 344 public libraries were reported in Mongolia, the majority in Ulaanbaatar.  The most prominent is the Ulaanbaatar Public Library (UPL).  Statistics from 2011 indicated there were 81 staff, 450,000 items, 57 computers (22 public use, 35 staff use), 232,097 visitors, and 497,298 loaned materials. The UPL has a website (http://www.pl.ub.gov.mn), online catalog, internet access, RFID tags, and select databases (Eifl support).

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Mongolia has 16 public and 85 private higher education institutions (HEIs). Public HEI academic libraries have more established collections and facilities, but also have more antiquated materials and infrastructure.  Modernization is occurring, in both public and private, but not as fully as needed.   Examples of some of the larger HEI libraries include:

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Most schools in Mongolia—public or private—have a school library.  However, with the exception of certain well-resourced libraries, many of the school libraries in Mongolia are often just a textbook repository with small reading room.  A government and NGO effort from 2007 to 2013 added 383 libraries to rural school locations.

NGOs SUPPORTING LIBRARIES
Various NGOs, besides Eifl, have been active in recent years in developing Mongolia’s libraries:

Last updated April 2019

TAIWAN

LIBRARY FACTS/STATISTICS
List of libraries (LAROC)

CENTRAL LIBRARY
Taiwan’s Central library is equivalent to a national library.  It is the "National Central Library" in Taipei (https://enwww.ncl.edu.tw/).  This was the original library under Nationalist China in 1930s Nanjing; its contents were shipped to Taiwan following the Nationalist government’s 1949 relocation. The library is similar to other national libraries, being a repository of government information and also a public library with reader’s services.

LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
Taiwan’s library association is the “Library Association of the Republic of China (Taiwan)” (http://www.lac.org.tw).  Its historical roots are to the Chinese Library Association, formed in 1914 Nationalist China.  In 1994 it renamed to its current name.  The association provides conferences, professional development training, publications, library advocacy, and more.  The association is located at the National Central Library.  Tel: +886-2-2331-2475  Fax: +886-2-2370-0899 ‧ Address: 100 No. 20, Zhongshan South Road, Taipei, Taiwan.

PUBLIC LIBRARIES
There are 2 public libraries that serve the entirety of Taiwan: (1) The National Taiwan Library (http://www.ntl.edu.tw/mp.asp?mp=2) in Taipei.  This public library, the oldest in Taiwan, was established in 1914 under Japanese occupation. It is the largest public library in Taiwan, offering a large variety of collections and services. (2) The National Taichung Library—known as the National Library of Public Information (http://www.nlpi.edu.tw/english/)--in Taichung, central Taiwan. It is the second largest public library dating to 1923. In addition to full services and collections, it has become a leader in training and advising other public libraries.  Taiwan’s largest cities—Taipei and Kaohsiung—each support large library systems (main libraries and branches). The Taipei Public Library (http://english.tpml.edu.tw/) has a main library and 40+ branches (neighborhood, thematic, and unstaffed self-service vending branches, etc.). The Kaohsiung Public Library, in southern Taiwan (https://www.ksml.edu.tw/eng/index.aspx) is similar, with 60+ branches.  Other cities and counties likewise have libraries, such as the New Taipei City Public Library (https://www.library.ntpc.gov.tw/)

ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
With a highly developed higher education system, Taiwan’s academic libraries follow international standards and best practices. There are over 160 universities and colleges (list: https://english.moe.gov.tw/cp-21-14441-4EC5E-1.htmlx). Examples of libraries at prominent universities include: (public) National Taiwan University (http://www.lib.ntu.edu.tw/en), National Tsing Hua University (http://www.lib.nthu.edu.tw/en/), National Taiwan University of Science and Technology library (http://library.ntust.edu.tw/), National Taiwan Normal University library (http://www.lib.ntnu.edu.tw/), National Cheng Chi University (http://www.lib.nccu.edu.tw/), National Chiao Tung University (https://www.lib.nctu.edu.tw/?lang=en-US), National Sun Yat Sen University (https://lis.nsysu.edu.tw/?Lang=en), (private) Tamkang University (http://www.lib.tku.edu.tw/), Fu Jen Catholic University (http://web.lib.fju.edu.tw/eng/)

SCHOOL LIBRARIES
School libraries have increased in Taiwan over the past couple decades. In 1991, there were 2,444 school libraries, increasing to 3,978 in 2010 (2720 primary, 743 junior high, 323 senior high, and 192 other).  In Taiwan, the state of school libraries varies. Generally, conditions are influenced by factors such as location (schools in large urban locations have more financial resources than those in remote areas) and funding level (senior high schools have more financial resources than primary schools).  Taiwan’s Ministry of Education has increased attention to school libraries in recent decades, such as subsidies to school that employ teacher librarians (2009) and reading promotion funding (2016). The MOE has also funded collaboration projects between school and public libraries (https://www.ifla.org/past-wlic/2012/118-ke-en.pdf).

Last updated October 2021