It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English 466: Modern British and American Poetry: Primary Sources
"The critic Michael Levenson warned that 'A coarsely understood modernism is at once an historical scandal and a contemporary disability'. The Modernist Magazine Project aims to refine and enhance the record through the production of a scholarly resource and comprehensive critical and cultural history of modernist magazines in the period 1880-1945. So-called 'little magazines' were small, independent publishing ventures committed to new and experimental work."
Access America's oldest poetry magazine, Poetry, in its entirety online for free, from 1912 to current. You can go back to the October 1912 issue and read the founding editor, Harriet Monroe's editorial comment, "As It Was" and her essay, "Motive for the Magazine."
"The Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature at the Library of Congress dates back to 1943, when Allen Tate was Consultant in Poetry. It contains nearly two thousand recordings—of poets and prose writers participating in literary events at the Library’s Capitol Hill campus as well as sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory."
Indexes almost a million descriptions of archival collections held by more than 2,500 libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. The detailed, archival collection descriptions have been written by archivists. Subject strengths include history, humanities, art, social sciences, and genealogy. Search results include the title of the collection, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description.
Search Tips: Search poet by name, keywords, theory, movement, etc. (e.g. Langston Hughes, Modernism, Harlem Renaissance, etc.)
"The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses."
Search Tips: Combine keywords to make your search more focused (e.g. Poetry and Harriet Monroe, Margaret Fuller and The Dial, or modernism and poetry).
"A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form...provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge."
Primary Sources in Library Scholarly and General Interest Databases
This interdisciplinary journal collection provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals. It is particularly strong in the humanities disciplines, such as literature, history, and area studies (Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe), but also has content from the sciences and the social sciences.
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
Indexes over 400 of the most popular magazines and journals published in the United States and Canada, with about full text for half of them. Particularly useful for locating magazines dealing with popular culture, such as fashion, current events, home and garden, entertainment, consumer information, and sports.
The letters and diaries in this collection were authored by women resident in Great Britain or Ireland between 1700 and 1950. They provide first person accounts of about 500 women from all age groups, ethnicities, and many geographical regions. The materials may be browsed by author, source, year, place, historical events and personal events.
Contains the non-fiction writings of over 1,000 major African American leaders, including teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other major figures from 1700 to the present. Includes full-text books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews. The material can be browsed by author, source, year, personal event, historical event, and subject.
The only fully searchable digital archive, available via Readex platform; covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century, American Race Relations: Global Perspectives is derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. A wealth of unique primary source documents on racial justice from around the world, it provides new insight into many of the most important historical events and movements of the last hundred years. Covering topics like segregation, race riots, arts and literature, Brown v. Board of Education and other important court cases, the Civil Rights Movement, the Black Panthers, Martin Luther King, Jr. and the rise of indigenous rights in countries around the world, this archive provides unique viewpoints on Americas fight for racial justice and rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition collects more than 2,500 primary sources covering current events around the world from 1972 to present and provides a clear, logical organization and tools for exploring these rich resources. Full text.
This large collection of digitized letters and diaries was authored by women in the United States (and, to a lesser extent, Canada and Mexico) from colonial times to 1950. The collection sheds light on the role and status of women, attitudes to specific historical and personal events, and the general life and times of various historical periods. It is particularly useful in womens studies, history, American studies, literature and linguistics. The materials can be explored by browsing by author, source, year, place, personal event (e.g. childbirth), and historical event; they may also be searched in numerous ways, including by authors nationality, race, religion, occupation, age at marriage, etc.
The personal narratives of over 2000 immigrants to the United States and Canada in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries are represented in letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, including the Ellis Island Oral History interviews. There are also political cartoons and Emigrant guides and advice books. The documents, which include text, images, and sound files, provide perspectives on the lives of immigrants in both North America and their countries of origin. They are useful in the fields of history, sociology, ethnic studies, womens studies, labor studies, and literature. The materials may be browsed by author, source, year, place, nationality, personal event, and subject.
Womens Issues and Identities is an archive of primary and secondary sources from across the globe that illuminate history from the female point of view. Notable collections within the archive include: Women and Health/Mental Health, Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Women and the Law and European Womens Periodicals.
Provides primary and secondary sources for the study of womens activism and social movements in the United States from colonial times to the present, including the full-text books, documents, articles, bibliographies, and images. Also included are teaching tools with lesson plans, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a Dictionary of Social Movements.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.