Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGLISH 500: Introduction to Graduate Studies in English: Journals

Journal Title Search

MLA Directory of Periodicals (accessible also in MLA International Bibliography)

Ulrich's Periodical Directory 
A searchable directory of approximately 250,000 regularly and irregularly published journals, magazines, newspapers, and full-text electronic resources from more than 200 countries. Search/browse by title, keyword, subject, ISSN or publisher; highlights of new, changed, and ceased titles.

Journal Search via OneSearch at the Pollak Library
Search journals by title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number). Direct links articles, or Illiad Interlibrary Loan service. Example: Shakespeare Quarterly in OneSearch will link you to JSTOR  (most recent six years not available) and Project Muse (available from 03/01/2001). 


Journal Website. You can Google it. For example: 
Shakespeare Quarterly (via Folger Shakespeare Library)

Literary & Multidisciplinary Databases

Contexts: Cultural, Historical, Social...

Search Strategy & Technique

Be elastic & be specific. Both are necessary. Research is a fluid, creative and elastic process. For example, you can narrow down your topic when it is too broad or when you find too much information. Using specific words can make your search results more precise. You can expand, refine, and revise your search words when you do not find enough information or the right information. Always, pay attention to new keywords and subject words that you will discover in the book or article citation/description. Add them to your notes. You may be surprised that your essay will miraculously grow from your words, thoughts, and notes over time.

The following techniques will help you create more effective search statements in computerized database searching.

1. AND -- To narrow down/refine a topic by combining two or more keywords 

Ophelia AND ballad medley  
madness AND renaissance drama
Hamlet AND
 plants AND symbolism


2. OR
 -- Nested search to include synonyms or related words

(plants or flowers or garden)
(bloodline OR kinship OR heredity)

 

3. NOT--Use not to exclude a keyword

Othello NOT Hamlet
Love NOT Sex

 

4. "   " -- Use double quotes to search topic as a phrase

"love letters"
"renaissance drama"


5. *  -- Use the asterisk (also called wildcard) to truncate words so you can retrieve letters after the word stem

orient* ->  orient, oriental, orientalism
sex* -> sexes, sexual, sexuality