It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
We haven't yet identified any Popular databases. Check back soon!
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 & 2, is an archive of publications covering U.S. Chicano/Latino/Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Based on materials from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, the collection includes complete text of hundreds of rare books by Chicano/Latino/Hispanic Americans, over 60,000 historical articles from newspapers, magazines and journals, 250,000 + pages of personal and organizational manuscripts including hundreds of political and religious pamphlets, broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, telegrams, speeches, transcripts, photographs, and advertisements. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is indexed and searchable in both Spanish and English.
Ethnic Diversity Source is a full-text database that covers “the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America” – including African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Native Americans and Multiracial Americans. Sources encompass academic journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, biographies, historical documents, and the Associated Press videos. Mostly contemporary content, with varying dates of coverage. Useful for researching concepts in ethnic studies, intersectionality, justice, liberation, and current issues.
This Gale primary source digital collection chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. The collection includes over 590,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II. Topics covered include the evacuations and mass migrations within central and Eastern Europe to the displacement of North African populations and resettlement of refugees in Latin America. Record sources include the foreign and colonial office files from U.K. National Archives in Kew, the U.S. State Department from the National Archives Records Administration (NARA), the British India Office collection from the British Library, and the archives of World Jewish Relief. These documents give researchers detailed insights into the complicated and shifting landscape across Europe, Asia, and Africa during and following World War II.
A comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. This Gale primary source digital collection includes materials such as intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Also includes declassified documents from the Department of State, Department of Defense, Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Joint Chiefs of Staff, and other executive agencies. Topics covered include the outbreak and course of the Second World War, the end of colonialism in the global south, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, U.S. relations with non-aligned states in the 1960s, U.S.-Soviet relations in the era of détente, international trade, nuclear proliferation, conflict in the Middle East, and the War on Terrorism. The collection also traces important sources on sensitive episodes within the United States such as domestic surveillance, the civil rights and anti-war movements, abuse of government power, and home-grown terrorism.
Covering Latin America culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day, Gale’s World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Collection consists of both primary and secondary sources in both Spanish and English, contained in two components: 1. Archive with over 1.3 million pages of archival material; and, 2. Portal with hundreds of scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, maps, audio and video, and data feeds. In addition to keyword searching, users can access the collection by Person, Topic, Event, Named Work, and Country. This multidisciplinary collection supports researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history, political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.