Web Archiving

Internet archiving overview, tools, policies, and resources for California State University, Fullerton.

Archive-IT at CSUF

Thanks to the generosity of the Office of Strategic Communications, CSUF now has a subscription to Archive-It. Please go to the Archive-It site to see our collections of web archives. If you have any feedback on our websites archives or recommendations about additional websites to archive, please email our website archivist, Mark Bilby.

A (Tentative) Set of Web Archiving Guidelines for CSUF

The following text is a draft based largely on a comparable set of guidelines at the University of Dayton:

Web Archiving Guidelines

Mission & Vision

The California State University, Fullerton Web Archiving Program works in accordance with the Pollak Library's mission to provide excellent research and scholarly collections for our users.

Notification, take-down, and opting-out

The Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton attempts to notify all organizations and/or individuals (external to the university) whose websites are selected for archiving. We refrain from archiving websites that do not wish to be included in this project and will remove harvested content from the archive upon request by website owner(s).

Ownership

California State University, Fullerton does not claim ownership rights for any external websites collected through its Web Archiving Program. All ownership rights remain with the websites' original creators and/or owners. California State University, Fullerton is not responsible for the content of any external websites, or for the accuracy or legality of said content.

Resource Constraints

The CSUF web archiving program uses a subscription based service called Archive-It. There are two main limitations on collecting procedures, cost associated with storage and the amount of storage. Due to these limitations harvesting of web sites must be fully considered by the web archiving program curators.

Curators

Each archivist is responsible for collecting content that falls under the scope of their collections. We welcome suggestions for inclusions in our web archiving program.