LibGuides: Elementary and Bilingual Education: Curriculum Planning Resources

Databases for Curriculum Planning

Abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present

Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)

Providing indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals, Teacher Reference Center covers topics important to teachers and school administrators.

Primary Search (EBSCO)

Provides full-text content for over 80 elementary school magazines, containing lesson plan ideas, activities, and articles written for elementary school students and assigned Lexiles reading level indicators. The database also includes The Encyclopedia of Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition.

Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)

Middle Search Plus offers full-text content for over 150 popular middle school magazines, with Lexile reading level indicators for full-text articles. As the content in Middle Search Plus is geared toward middle school students, Secondary Education and credential students may find useful lesson plan ideas, activities, and primary sources materials for use in the classroom.

Childrens Literature Comprehensive Database

More than 200,000 full-text reviews of children's books, video and audio recordings, and other child-focused media from 33 review sources. Includes award winners and reading measurement program notes for Accelerated Reader, Degrees of Reading Power, Lexile, and Reading Counts.

Lesson Plan Websites

General

What Works Clearinghouse

We review the research on the different programs, products, practices, andpolicies in education.

Then, by focusing on the results from high-quality research, we try to answer the question “What works in education?”

Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/

Discovery Education - Teacher Resources

Discovery Education offers a broad range of free classroom resources that complement and extend learning beyond the bell. http://www.discoveryeducation.com//teachers/

Reading is Fundamental - Literacy Resources

Literary Resources offers a wealth of support and information about reading and children. The myriad choices reflect our determination to provide teachers and parents with current trends in education, down-to-earth suggestions on reading in the home, and no-nonsense strategies to improve children’s reading. https://www.rif.org/literacy-central

ReadWriteThink

The mission of ReadWriteThink is to provide educators, parents, and afterschool professionals with access to the highest quality practices in reading and language arts instruction by offering the very best in free materials. http://www.readwritethink.org/

The Getty: K - 12 Teachers and Students

The education department at the J. Paul Getty Museum offers a range of educational programs and resources for a variety of audiences at both the Getty Center and the Getty Villa.

http://www.getty.edu/education/teachers/index.html

English Language Learners

Colorín Colorado

Colorín Colorado is a free web-based service that provides information, activities and advice for educators and Spanish-speaking families of English language learners (ELLs). http://www.colorincolorado.org/

Professional Associations for Teachers

A list of professional associations for teachers and educators. Explore association home pages for links to curriculum resources, publications, position statements, and more.

National Association for the Education of Young Children
The nation's leading voice for high-quality early childhood education for children from birth to through age 8.
NAEYC's mission is to serve and act on behalf of the needs, rights and well-being of all young children with primary focus on the provision of educational and developmental services and resources
National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), founded in 1944 and headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.
National Council of Teachers of English
The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education. This mission statement was adopted in 1990:
"The Council promotes the development of literacy, the use of language to construct personal and public worlds and to achieve full participation in society, through the learning and teaching of English and the related arts and sciences of language.“
National Association for Bilingual Education
NABE's mission is to advocate for our nation's Bilingual and English Language Learners and families and to cultivate a multilingual multicultural society by supporting and promoting policy, programs, pedagogy, research and professional development that yield academic success, value native language, lead to English proficiency, and respect cultural and linguistic diversity.
National Association for Multicultural Education Advancing and Advocating for Social Justice & Equity
The founders of the National Association for Multicultural Education (NAME) envisioned an organization that would bring together individuals and groups with an interest in multicultural education from all levels of education, different academic disciplines and from diverse educational institutions and occupations. NAME today is an active, growing organization, with members from throughout the United States several other countries. Educators from preschool through higher education and representatives from business and communities comprise NAME's membership.

Elementary and Bilingual Education: Curriculum Planning Resources

Databases for Curriculum Planning

Lesson Plan Websites

General

Professional Associations for Teachers

Web Accessibility