Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites. Full-text detailed reports on controversial social, economic, political, educational, health, environmental, technology, and current topics. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography. Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.A list of professional associations for teachers and educators. Explore association home pages for links to curriculum resources, publications, position statements, and more.
National Council of Teachers of English
The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education. This mission statement was adopted in 1990: "The Council promotes the development of literacy, the use of language to construct personal and public worlds and to achieve full participation in society, through the learning and teaching of English and the related arts and sciences of language.
National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), founded in 1944 and headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all. The mission of NSTA is to promote excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.
Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
To advance professional expertise in English language teaching and learning for speakers of other languages worldwide.
The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTA)
The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is the public voice of mathematics education, supporting teachers to ensure equitable mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students through vision, leadership, professional development, and research.
California Reading Association
California Reading Association (CRA) is a non-profit professional organization of educators who are actively involved in all aspects of reading and language arts education, from kindergarten through university levels. The state organization, an affiliate of the International Reading Association (IRA), consists of more than 55 active local reading councils located in different service areas around the state. Over 3,000 educators hold membership in this professional organization. The California Reading Association is committed to promoting standards-aligned instruction consistent with the California Reading/Language Arts Framework (1999), which is designed to meet the needs of all learners. CRA supports the use of research-based teaching strategies designed to enable students to decode, comprehend, think critically, and communicate effectively.
National Association for Bilingual Education (NABE)
NABE's mission is to advocate for our nation's Bilingual and English Language Learners and families and to cultivate a multilingual multicultural society by supporting and promoting policy, programs, pedagogy, research and professional development that yield academic success, value native language, lead to English proficiency, and respect cultural and linguistic diversity.
National Association for the Education of Young Children
The nation's leading voice for high-quality early childhood education for children from birth to through age 8. NAEYC's mission is to serve and act on behalf of the needs, rights and well-being of all young children with primary focus on the provision of educational and developmental services and resources.