Skip to main content

California State University, Fullerton

Pollak Library

Genetic Genealogy: Home

Understanding and using DNA for family history research.

Guide Scope

Learn about how DNA can be used for family history research, basic concepts of genetic genealogy, the different types of DNAs test for this purpose, and how to get started with interpreting your test results.

About Genetic Genealogy

DNA Double Helix

Genetic genealogy is the use of DNA testing in combination with traditional genealogical and historical records. Genetic genealogy involves the use of genealogical DNA testing together with documentary evidence to infer the relationship between individuals.

Genealogical DNA testing first became available on a commercial basis in the year 2000 with the launch of Family Tree DNA and Oxford Ancestors.

- Source: The International Society of Genetic Genealogy (ISOGG) Wiki

Public domain image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons.

Receive Updates About Future DNA Events

You can also access the Google Form directly via this link.

National DNA Day 2017 Test Sales

Family Tree DNA Sale

Family Tree DNA

Family Tree DNA offers Y-chromosome (patrilineal/ direct-male line deep ancestry), mitochondrial (matrilineal/direct-female line, deep ancestry), and autosomal (all lines, recent ancestry) DNA tests. Their DNA Day sale ends Thursday, April 27, 2017.

  • Includes Ethnicity Reporting: Yes
  • Includes DNA Matches: Yes
  • Includes a Chromosome Browser (autosomal): Yes
  • Includes Health Reporting: No
  • Can Export Raw Data: Yes
  • Can Import Raw Data: Yes (from Ancestry and 23andMe, via an Autosomal Transfer for $15)
  • Can Attach an Online Tree: No (upload Gedcom only)
  • Testing Method: Cheek swab

AncestryDNA DNA Day Sale

AncestryDNA

AncestryDNA offers autosomal (all lines, recent ancestry) DNA tests. Their DNA Day sale ends on Wednesday, April 26, 2017.

  • Includes Ethnicity Reporting: Yes (plus Genetic Communities)
  • Includes DNA Matches: Yes
  • Includes a Chromosome Browser (autosomal): No
  • Includes Health Reporting: No
  • Can Export Raw Data: Yes
  • Can Import Raw Data: No
  • Can Attach an Online Tree: Yes
  • Testing Method: Spit in Tube

23andMe Mother's Day Sale

23andMe

23andMe offers autosomal (all lines, recent ancestry) DNA tests (with health reporting). Their Mother's Day sale ends on May 14, 2017.

  • Includes Ethnicity Reporting: Yes
  • Includes DNA Matches: Yes
  • Includes a Chromosome Browser (autosomal): Yes
  • Includes Health Reporting: Yes
  • Can Export Raw Data: Yes
  • Can Import Raw Data: No
  • Can Attach an Online Tree: No
  • Testing Method: Cheek Swab

MyHeritage DNA Day Sale

MyHeritage DNA

MyHeritage offers autosomal (all lines, recent ancestry) DNA tests. This is part of an existing sale with no specified end date, instead of a sale just for DNA Day.

  • Includes Ethnicity Reporting: Yes
  • Includes DNA Matches: Yes
  • Includes a Chromosome Browser (autosomal): No
  • Includes Health Reporting: No
  • Can Export Raw Data: N/A
  • Can Import Raw Data: Yes (transfer from AncestryDNA, 23andMe, and Family Tree DNA)
  • Can Attach an Online Tree: Yes
  • Testing Method: Cheek swab

National Genographic Project

National Geographic's Genographic Project

The National Genographic Project offers Y-chromosome (patrilineal/direct-male line, deep ancestry) and mitochondrial (matrilineal/direct-female line, deep ancestry) DNA reports. They currently offer and ongoing sale price.

  • Includes Ethnicity Reporting: Yes
  • Includes DNA Matches: No
  • Includes a Chromosome Browser (autosomal): Not applicable
  • Includes Health Reporting: No
  • Can Export Raw Data: Yes (transfer free to Family Tree DNA)
  • Can Import Raw Data: No
  • Can Attach an Online Tree: No
  • Testing Method: Unknown