Skip to main content

California State University, Fullerton

Pollak Library

University 100 -- Valenciana: Genealogy Research-Just for fun

Resources for conducting your family history

Conducting Genealogy Research Online

These Websites are not necessary for completion of the autobiography assignment but if you get "bitten" by the genealogy bug, you might find it fun to go further

Selected Genealogy Resources:

Government Sites:

Library of Congress Local History and Genealogy Reading Room -- Contains guides to genealogical research including specific ethnic groups and foreign genealogical research.

National Archives Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians -- Contains access to the 1940 Census, the latest complete census released. Can be searched by name.

Visit the United States National Archives and Records Administration-Pacific Region -- Covers the genealogical research collections maintained by the National Archives including the Pacific Regional Center in Riverside.

Non-Governmental Sites: (May contain links to fee-based sites.)

American Family Immigration Center -- Part of the Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation -- Search Immigration Records and Passenger Lists of arrivals to New York & Ellis Island for 1892-1924; check out the immigration time line and family histories. See also Castle Garden, America's first immigration center for resources covering immigration to the United States from 1830 to 1892.

About.com Genealogy -- Learn about how to research and preserve your family's history. CONTAINS FREE FAMILY TREE CHARTS with no fees nor strings attached.

Ancestry.com -- A commercial. subscription site with plenty of free stuff; see also Genealogy.org. Also includes Family Tree Maker Online.

Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites on the Internet -- This is an extremely large, well-organized list of genealogy web sites!

Family Search Internet Genealogy Service -- Site provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

FamilyLink -- works on Facebook to find relatives and keep families linked together. Also provides fee for genealogy services.

Genealogy.com -- This commercial site provides some free access to genealogical & ethnic research help.

My Heritage -- Site to share family photos and create a family tree for free.

National Genealogical Society -- The NGS assists members tracing their family histories since 1903. Includes an online course on genealogical research.

Roots-L -- An Internet genealogy mailing list, Roots-L contains a list of local genealogical web sites organized by State.

RootsWeb.com -- Claims to be the oldest & largest free genealogy site. Sponsored by Ancestry.com.

UsGenWeb Project -- Contains Internet web sites for researching genealogy in all U.S. states and counties. Includes links to State Archives.

WorldGenWeb Project -- This is the worldwide organization which divides the world into 15 regions. Not affiliated with UsGenWeb Program.

Local Genealogical Organizations:

Find a Family History Center near your home. These centers are part of the Church of Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The public is welcome to use the facilities.

Find Libraries, Archives, and Museums in California. (From Cyndi's list).

Find Local Public Libraries in Southern California near your home. Many have local history rooms or genealogy rooms.

OCCGS -- the Orange County California Genealogical Society maintains a genealogy collection at Huntington Beach Central library. They provide classes and monthly meetings for people interested in local genealogy.

Society of Hispanic Historical and Ancestral Research -- Local organization that promotes Hispanic Family History Research.