LibGuides: Modern Languages & Literatures: Databases for all languages and literatures

Databases for all languages and literatures

These are the basic databases dedicated to languages and literatures taught at Cal State Fullerton. The first two databases listed will contain records for resources in all languages. Many of the rest will cover resources in English about other languages. Databases are ordered from most likely to contain records for items in languages other than English.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats on all national literatures, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Need to find scholarly articles, book reviews, book chapters, and conference papers on various linguistics and language related subjects? Try LLBA to access articles from over 1,500 journals, as well as summaries of books, book chapters and dissertations!
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear.

Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Available via Gale. This extensive database contains author biographies, overviews of frequently studied literary works, full-text poems, short stories, and plays, literary criticism, web sites, and definitions of literary terms, movements and themes. Can search for authors who share characteristics such as genre, time period, themes, nationality, ethnicity and gender.
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Available via Gale. Brings together a range of modern and historical views on authors and their literary works in full-text from scholarly and popular books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. The database incorporates ten of the print Gale Literature Criticism series and makes them searchable by literary author, title of the literary work, and topic. Covers literature from classical to contemporary times.
Education Full-Text This link opens in a new window
International coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks covering the field of Education. Includes journals not covered in ERIC. Abstracts available from 1983, full-text articles available from 1996. SFX enabled; can e-mail, print, or download citations.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Includes Childhood Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Psychology, Social Work and Sociology. The annotated bibliography with supporting explanations presents the preeminent research on these subjects. Editors are distinguished scholars in their field and resulting citations are highly recommended.