Skip to main content

California State University, Fullerton

Pollak Library

Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC) -- Family History Focus: Citation Styles

An online guide for research resources in Chicana & Chicano Studies topics with family history focus

Citing Sources

Depending on your professor's preference, you may be required to use APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian or other citation styles for your references, works cited or bibliography page as well as in text citations or footnotes/endnotes.

Your professor may also give you the option of choosing which citation style to use. You can base your decision on several things. If a specific citation style is used in your major, it might be a good idea to use that style. However, your topic may dictate the citation style as each citation style works better for the types of resources you will need to cite for that topic.

For example: If your topic is about works of literature, then MLA is the best choice; If you are looking at a historical topic, then Chicago or Turabian notes styles are preferred; While health care, psychology or or other social science topics would work best in APA.

Using a bibliographic management tool such as Endnote Web or Zotero can help you stay organized.

Use the tabs to the right to find out more information about citing your resources.

APA is the most widely used citation style. Use these sources to help with using APA.

How do I cite sources using APA style?

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed. (2010) is the authority used by writers in the social sciences and some natural sciences.

Unofficial: CSUF APA Citation Style (PDF) provides a two-page overview of some of the most common citation needs for both the in-text parenthetical documentation and the reference list

Official: APA Style Tips and the APA Electronic References provide a few official examples from the APA. Neither is comprehensive; the print Publication Manual is the only authoritative source of citation rules. Copies are kept at the Reference Desk for in-library use only.

Additional help with APA style:

APA Formating tutorials

Learn the basics for setting up an APA style research paper.

Click on the links below, to watch a tutorial produced by the staff at the American Psychological Association that covers the basics of setting up a research paper in APA style [official]. As well as a tutorial on the use of APA style created by the Harvard School of Education [Unofficial]. 

In each case,  you can watch the entire tutorial or pick a specific segment. Each short segment guides you through a specific APA Style element.

Always check with your professor to find out if a specific APA style element discussed in these tutoriale (e.g. double spacing, exact font requirements, a title page, or running heading, etc.) is required.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers by Kate Turabian 7th ed. This Chicago stylebook is written for undergraduates.  (REF DESK LB2369 T8 2007).Turabian Book Cover

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed., the authority used by writers in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Copies are available at the Reference Desk for in-library use (REF DESK  Z253 .U69 2003).

Official Resource:

Chicago has provided New Questions and Answers, However, the print Chicago Manual of Style is the only authoritative source of citation rules. Copies are kept at the Reference Desk for Chicago Manual of Stylein-library use.

Unofficial Resources:

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009), is the authority used by writers in many disciplines in the humanities. Copies are kept at the Reference Desk for in-library use.
Cover of the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

Unofficial:
 CSUF MLA Citation Style (PDF) provides a two-page overview of some of the most common citation needs for both the in-text parenthetical documentation and the reference list.

Official: Frequently Asked Questions about MLA Style. The print MLA Handbook is the only authoritative source of citation rules. Copies are kept at the Reference Desk for in-library use.

Also Available Online:
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue University. Purdue University's OWL is an excellent source to use for any citation style, inlcuding MLA.

Diane Hacker Research and Documentation. Click on Humanities to see the section for MLA

I need to cite my sources using a discipline-specific style manual:

To create an account:  http://myendnoteweb.com and click on Create a Free Account  
Note: You must initiate your account registration while physically on campus. CSUF IP address is needed for authentication.

EndNote Web (also known as EndNote Basic) is an online citation management application that can help you to organize your research material, including journal articles, into your own online database. Log-in here 

  • Can import references from online sources (For Web of Science and databases from major vendors, citations can be exported directly into EndNote Web.)
  • Can organize references in subject folders (Create groups to manage subsets of references)
  • Can view and edit reference details; can link to fulltext articles
  • Can share reference folders for collaboration (read and write)
  • Can access your EndNote Web Library from any computer with Internet connection
  • Can create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles
  • Can use Cite While You Write with MS Word
  • Can capture Web references from databases and sites such as Amazon and YouTube
  • can find duplicates
  • Can sort reference lists by author, year published, date item imported, etc.

EndNote Web Limitations

  • 10,000 citations maximum per library
  • Can hyperlink PDFs, images, etc. to citation records, but not as attachments
  • Less functionality than desktop version of EndNote
  • Available only to current CSUF people

EndNote Web Overview

  • This video will give you a brief overview of what EndNote Web can do for you.

EndNote Web Account

  • See this page to open a free account available to current CSUF people.

More Information?
http://endnote.com/enwebinfo.asp

Loading