History – World: FAQs

Subject guide for History – World

How do I find archival collections?

This page describes how to locate archival collections in Pollak Library and elsewhere. It is usually necessary to visit the library or archives in person in order to use these rare materials.

1. Locate archival collections outside Pollak Library using WorldCat.

WorldCat (at the Library's home page, under 'Quick Links' click on 'Find Databases' and select 'W' and click on 'WorldCat') allows you to locate archival collections in libraries around the world. Use the 'Archival Materials' box on the opening search screen to limit your search to archival materials.

2. Search the Library Catalog for primary source materials in Pollak Library's University Archives
and Special Collections.

Example:
Keyword: Orange County
Click on the Limit/Sort button
Where item is located: >S Special Collections or >F Freedom Center
Note: Check with Special Collections (3rd Floor, Library South) about materials that are not searchable
through the Library Catalog.

 

Historical Newspapers

3. If you are looking for older newspapers for historical research, Pollak Library subscribes to the following:

How do I use subject headings to find primary sources in book catalogs?

This page describes how to use Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate primary source materials in online catalogs.

1. Go to the Books tab.

2. Search by Keyword. Enter your subject term and one of the primary source terms listed below:

correspondence
diaries
early works to 1800
interviews
pamphlets
personal narratives
pictorial works
sources
speeches

Examples:
women pioneers and diaries
soviet union and dissidents and interviews
holocaust and personal narratives
Thomas Jefferson and correspondence

 

How do I use ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)?

This page describes how to request and renew materials borrowed through ILLiad (interlibrary loan) from other institutions. This service is available to current students, faculty and staff of CSUF.

  • To establish an ILL account (for first time users)
  1. Go to “Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)” on the library homepage (located under “Quick Links”)
  2. Fill out the electronic form to create your user account

 

  • To request a specific book, article, or other item not available in our library:
  1. Click on the Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link under Quick Links on the library homepage.  You will be prompted to login using the campus portal.  (If you are a first time user, please fill out the form that displays after you login.)
  2. Depending on the item you wish to order, fill out a New Request using the Article, Book, Thesis/Dissertation, or Other form and click on the SUBMIT REQUEST button.
  3. You will receive an email telling you how to retrieve the item when it has arrived.  You can track the progress of your request at any time by logging into your ILLiad account.

 

  • To request an item while searching a discovery tool like the catalog or a database:

       CATALOG:

  1. If the item is not available at the Pollak Library, click on “Request An Interlibrary Loan”
  2. From this WorldCat record, click the link “Request Item through Interlibrary Loan” located in the middle of the screen next to “Services from CALIFORNIA STATE UNIV, FULLERTON for this item:”
  3. Sign in through your ILLiad portal, and click on Continue on to ILLiad and then Request this Item.  You should have a screen with a request form automatically filled out with the necessary information about the item you want to request.
  4. Verify the information on the auto-fill request form
  5. Click on the SUBMIT REQUEST button.
  6. You will receive an email telling you how to retrieve the item when it has arrived.  You can track the progress of your request at any time by logging into your ILLiad account.

       ARTICLE DATABASES (EBSCO, etc.) or WorldCat:

  1. Click on Find It at the Pollak Library button [image] associated with the item (book or article) you wish to order.
  2. If the library does not have the item, click on the link “We’ll get this for you” found in the Find It  box
  3. Log in through your ILLiad portal, click on the Continue to ILLiad and Request This Item. You should have a screen with a request form automatically filled out with the necessary information about the item you want to request.
  4. Verify the information on the auto-fill request form and click on the SUBMIT REQUEST button.
  5. You will receive an email telling you how to retrieve the item when it has arrived.  You can track the progress of your request at any time by logging into your ILLiad account.

 

  • To track my requests and to pick up books and articles requested via ILLiad
    • Watch your email inbox for notification that your requested materials have arrived

(The ILL user must be sure to allow adequate time for the verification, processing, and delivery time to and from the lending institution. Requests are usually filled within three to seven business days. Some items may arrive more quickly. However, depending on the nature of the material requested, some items may take up to two weeks or longer to arrive.)

  1. Log onto your ILLiad account using the link on the library homepage
  2. Click on “Requests in Process” to check the status of your requests
  3. To retrieve an article sent electronically, click on “Electronically Delivered Articles” and “View” by the article of choice.
  4. To retrieve books and other materials go to the circulation desk (1st Floor South) to pick up your item(s)

 

  • To renew my ILLiad materials

1.    Log onto your ILLiad account using the link on the library homepage

2.    Click on Received/Checked Out Loans – Renewals link

3.    Click on the transaction number of the item you wish to renew, and then click on the red Renew Request link. Requests for renewals must be requested before the due date

 

  • To get answers to my questions about ILLiad requests 
    • Email libraryill@fullerton.edu
    • Contact the ILL office Mon-Thurs 9-6 or Fri 9-4
    • Phone 657-278-2637
    • Check at circulation or reference desks for help

Librarian