History - United States: Primary Sources

Subject guide for History - United States

Primary Sources

United States History Photographs

Websites and databases good for finding photographs and other images useful in the study of United States history.

Unisted States Historical Maps

Links to websites with online historical maps.

How do I find government information?

Find print or online information published by the federal, state, and local governments, as well as international intergovernmental organizations.

Limit your search in the Library Catalog to the 'Government Documents Collection only'.

In the collections drop-down box to the right of the search box, select Government Documents only. Search your term as Keyword or Subject. Remember to click New Search when you have finished searching for government documents.

Sites related to World War II:

World War II Records, National Archives
https://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/

The National World War II Museum
https://www.nationalww2museum.org/students-teachers/educator-resources

Avalon Project
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/wwii.asp​

War Letters - Primary Source Documents and First Person Accounts
http://www.war-letters.com/

How do I find archival collections?

This page describes how to locate archival collections in Pollak Library and elsewhere. It is usually necessary to visit the library or archives in person in order to use these rare materials.

1. Locate archival collections outside Pollak Library using ArchiveGrid.

ArchiveGrid (at the Library's home page, under 'Quick Links' click on 'Find Databases' and select 'A' and click on 'ArchiveGrid') allows you to locate archival collections in libraries around the world.

2. Search the Library Catalog for primary source materials in Pollak Library's University Archives
and Special Collections.

Example:
Keyword: Orange County
Click on the Limit/Sort button
Where item is located: >S Special Collections or >F Freedom Center
Note: Check with Special Collections (3rd Floor, Library South) about materials that are not searchable
through the Library Catalog.

 

Librarian

Susan Tschabrun's picture
Susan Tschabrun
Contact:
stschabrun@fullerton.edu
657.278.7556