Education: Curriculum Planning Resources

A portal to resources for research in education. This guide is primarily intended for graduate students in the College of Education.

Databases for Curriculum Planning

Abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present
 
Providing indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals, Teacher Reference Center covers topics important to teachers and school administrators.
 
Provides full-text content for over 80 elementary school magazines, containing lesson plan ideas, activities, and articles written for elementary school students and assigned Lexiles reading level indicators. The database also includes The Encyclopedia of Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition.
 
Middle Search Plus offers full-text content for over 150 popular middle school magazines, with Lexile reading level indicators for full-text articles. As the content in Middle Search Plus is geared toward middle school students, Secondary Education and credential students may find useful lesson plan ideas, activities, and primary sources materials for use in the classroom.
 
 
More than 200,000 full-text reviews of children's books, video and audio recordings, and other child-focused media from 33 review sources. Includes award winners and reading measurement program notes for Accelerated Reader, Degrees of Reading Power, Lexile, and Reading Counts.

Lesson Plan Websites

What Works Clearinghouse

 

We review the research on the different programs, products, practices, andpolicies in education.
Then, by focusing on the results from high-quality research, we try to answer the question “What works in education?”
Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/
 
Discovery Education offers a broad range of free classroom resources that complement and extend learning beyond the bell. http://www.discoveryeducation.com//teachers/
 
Literary Resources offers a wealth of support and information about reading and children. The myriad choices reflect our determination to provide teachers and parents with current trends in education, down-to-earth suggestions on reading in the home, and no-nonsense strategies to improve children’s reading. http://www.rif.org/literacy-central#pile-page-3292
  
The mission of ReadWriteThink is to provide educators, parents, and afterschool professionals with access to the highest quality practices in reading and language arts instruction by offering the very best in free materials. http://www.readwritethink.org/
 
The education department at the J. Paul Getty Museum offers a range of educational programs and resources for a variety of audiences at both the Getty Center and the Getty Villa. 
 
Colorín Colorado is a free web-based service that provides information, activities and advice for educators and Spanish-speaking families of English language learners (ELLs). http://www.colorincolorado.org/
 
This student initiated event was inspired by the Día de los Niños/Día de los Libros (Children's Day/Book Day), a nation-wide reading initiative that emphasizes the importance of literacy for children of all linguistic and cultural backgrounds.

 

Websites on youth literacy and bilingualism

 
 

Professional Associations for Teachers

A list of professional associations for teachers and educators. Explore association home pages for links to curriculum resources, publications, position statements, and more.