Theatre Research Guide: Theatre Reference

Subject guide for Theatre

Theatre Reference Books: A Very Brief List

We have MANY more Theatre books than are listed here.  These books Reference books
are just some of the Theatre resources that you can use to start your research. To access the complete collection, use the Pollak Library Catalog.

  • Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Reference PN2035 .O84 2001    Acting : An International Encyclopedia and ebook
Reference PN2035 B74 1994    Brewer's Theater : a Phrase and Fable Dictionary
Reference F128.65.T5 B56 2004    Broadway : Its History, People, And Places : An Encyclopedia
5th floor, South PN 2035 C27 1995    The Cambridge Guide to theatre, Martin Banham, ed.
Reference ML 1711.8 N3 N67    A Chronology of American Musical Theater, 3 volumes, 2002
PN2091.E4 B66 2003 Encyclopedia of Stage Lighting by Jody Briggs
5th floor, South GT 510 R3313 1988    Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes by Albert Racinet
5th floor South PN 2035 H297 1998    The Language of theatre / Martin Harrison
Reference PN 2220 B6     The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by Gerald Bordman 2004, and online
5th floor, South HF 5382.5 U5 P76    Professional Careers Sourcebook: Where to find Help in Planning Careers,  2000
Reference PN 1861 W67 1994    World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre by Don Rubin, volume 1-6   
ebook Edward Forman, Historical Dictionary of French Theatre  2010   

  • Research Guides

5th floor South ML 128 M78 D48  Broadway Song Companion: An Annotated Guide to Musical Theater Literature, 1998
5th floor South PN 1625 M37 1990   MasterPlots: Drama Series, This 4vol set contains a synopsis of the plots of plays
5th floor South PN 1584z S56 1994  The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Linda Keir Simons
5th floor South PN 1584z W5, 5th floor South Performing Arts Research: A Guide to Information Sources
ebook 2011, Research Methods in Theatre and Performance,  Baz Kershow   

  • Handbooks and Almanacs

5th floor South PN 2091 S8 C327    Backstage Handbook: An Illustrated Almanac of Technical Information by Paul Carter
5th floor South PN 3157 I58 1990   International Guide to Children's Theatre and Educational Theatre
5th floor South PN 2266 H53 1997  The Theatregoer's Almanac: Collection of Lists, People, History, and Commentary    

  • Vocational Guidance

PN2055 M6 2005 Opportunities in Acting Careers 2005
5th floor South ebook A Practical Guide for Working in Theatre 2012
5th floor South HF 5381 E52    Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by Holli R. Cosgrove, volumes1-4
5th floor South PN 2074 G66     Great Jobs for Theater Majors by Jan Gildberg 2005
Reference PN 2053 S68     Stage Directors Handbook: Opportunities for Directors and Choreographers
5th floor South PN1580 .R47 2004  Resumes for Performing Arts Careers with Sample Cover Letters   

  • Biographical Information

5th floor South PN 2597 H5    Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers vol1-14.
5th floor South PN 2096 A1 L33 1990    Biographical Dictionary of Scenographers: 500B.C. to 1900A.D.
5th floor South PN 2285 C58    Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, volumes 1-29, 1984 to current date
5th floor South PR 737 C57 1999    Contemporary Dramatists, 1999, Thomas Riggs, editor
5th floor South PN 1998.2 B368 1995    Illustrated Who's Who of Hollywood Directors
5th floor South PN 2035 I49 1992  International Dictionary of Theater, v1 Plays v2 Playwrights v3 Actors Directors & Designers
Online database   Literature Resource Center
5th floor South PN 2012 W5    Who's Who in the Theatre, we own miscellaneous years from 1930-1981,
5th floor South PN 2597 W52   Who was Who in the Theatre: 1912-1976 volumes 1-4    

  • Monologues

5th floor South PN 2080 M372 1996   Classical Audition speeches for Men by Jean Marlow
5th floor South PN 2080 M2752 1996   Classical Audition Speeches for Women by Jean Marlow
5th floor South PN 2080 G84 1988   Guide to Monologues: Men: An Index of Over 800 Monologues
5th floor South PN 2080 D35 2008 Monologues for Show Offs
5th Floor South PN2080 0585 2007 One on One: The Best Women's Momologues for the 21st Century    

  • Awards

online database    North American Theatre Online, provides links to Theatre awards
5th floor South PN2270.A93 S54 1997 The Big Book of Show Business Awards by David Sheward
Reference PN2270.A93 F68 2005    Entertainment Awards: a Music, Cinema, Theatre and Broadcasting Guide, 1928-2003
5th floor South PN 1993.92 O82 2003    75 Years of the Oscar: Official History of the Academy Awards
5th floor South PN2270.A93 T6 2001 The Tony Award : a Complete Listing of Winners and Nominees of the American Theatre