Theatre Research Guide: Reviews

Subject guide for Theatre

Locate Performance Reviews from Print Sources

 New York Theatre Critics ReviewsNew York Theatre Critics Reviews Reference... PN1601 N4 1940-1996
    
This set is especially valuable as it includes full-text reviews, from a variety of publications, all placed togther. Includes: New York Daily News, Wall Street Journal, Time, New York Post, Women's Wear Daily, New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Newsweek. 

New York Times Theatre Reviews Reference... PN 2266 N48 1977-2000
     This set of books includes reprint of the review, with lots of wonderful pictures, arranged by date.  All reviews of a particualr play are found together in one place. To use this set, all you need to know is the date of the play.  There is also a personal name index and a title index.

A Guide to Critical Reviews pt 1, American Drama, 1909-1969. pt2, The Musical 1909-1974, pt3 Foreign Drama 1909-1977, pt4 The Screeenplay 1976-1980... Reference PN 2277 N5 S34x
    This book offers the citation for reviews from many different productions and is in order by the playwright's last name.

All of the above books are found on the first floor of the North Library in Reference.

How to Locate Performance Reviews

Databases listed below are useful for locating performance reviews.print review of John Steinbeck's "of Mice and Men"
Remember when searching for these reviews...

  • Watch the date of your performance and adjust your search.  
  • New York Times reviews are a better choice than a local newspaper.
  • This campus is referred as Cal State Fullerton in newspapers,

How do I Locate Book Reviews?

This page explains the process of locating book reviews in Pollak Library.

1. Determine the database to search by answering the following questions:

When was the book published?
Reviews usually come out within 2-3 years of a book's publication date, so choose a database (or paper index) that covers that time period.

What type of review do you need? (general interest or scholarly)
General interest reviews may be found in newspapers or magazines, like the New York Review of Books or the Los Angeles Times. Scholarly reviews are found in journals and tend to be more in-depth.

Which field of study does your book fall into? (history, environmental studies, etc.)
Some of the subject-specific databases listed by Major/Subject under Find Articles on the library home page may have reviews of your book.

2. Pick an appropriate database.

3. Use a flexible search strategy.

Since the author and title of the book review are not the same as the author and title of the book being reviewed, you may need to try either of the following strategies:

Search the book author's last name and several distinctive words from the book title using Keyword or All fields, depending on the database.